We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute pub, small intimate Irish pub.”

Johnnie MacCracken's Celtic Pub
Ranked #49 of 721 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cute pub, small intimate Irish pub.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

A lot of beer selections, no doubt. Pub fair. Sandwiches made to order. Wait staff polite.
Cheese steak is oversized. Reasonably price at 8 bucks. Enough to share if your not hungry! Not huge though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good beer selection; good food; OK service; Smoke-filled”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I like Johnnie Mac's. It's one of my favorite bars in Marietta, mostly because of the beer selection and pub atmosphere. Plus, it's a good value. The one BIG drawback, and the main reason I don't go more often, and the reason I don't invite more guests, is the smoking. FOR GOD'S SAKE, BAN THE SMOKING! They don't even allow smoking inside pubs in Ireland anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UGAJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good times”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good place good enviroment. Lots of different areas. Back patio is good, fire place. Best spot is the comfy chairs in the library part. decent food. regular drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wouldn't waste my time unless you're already drunk”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Old building, cramped seating, and sparse servers. Kind of dirty and full of old kitschy stuff, food standard bar fare and still allows smoking. . I wouldn't go in with kids or with a date. If you want to drink late night after tipping back a few, OK. Other than that, not worth seeking out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davega1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worst lunch in Marietta!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am copying and pasting this review from "Johnnie McCracken's TripAdvisor page because they have two listings (this one "MacCracken's).
We work on the Marietta square and frequent the various restaurants daily. We had never been to Johnnie McCrackens. We also had never experienced the worst lunch in town; and now we have. This place is supposedly famous for its corned beef, and makes much publicity of a visit by Food Network's Alton Brown. So I ordered a corned beef sandwich. My wife ordered the "Georgia Moonshine" - a sliced prime rib sandwich with irish cheddar and tomatoes. Why it is named that, heaven knows. My sandwich arrived and was 1/8" thick. When I peeled open the sandwich, you could see the bread. There was literally one scraggly piece of corned beef that didn't cover more than 2/3 of the slice of bread. It had good flavor, what little there was of it. My wife bit into her sandwich and began to make a very awful face. See, my wife can't eat spicy things, and nothing on the menu indicated that any such thing was on the sandwich. The wait person happened by about this time and asked if everything was ok. She told my wife that there was horseradish sauce on her sandwich. When I showed her my corned beef and asked if that was the usual amount they put on a sandwich, she said "not really" and said she would bring it to someone's attention. I took a bite of my wife's sandwich, since she couldn't eat it. It wasn't really a horseradish taste - it was just plain nasty, like industrial cleaner taste. No one came to see us about the issues, but instead, we were just brought the bill in full. Food "F", atmosphere "F", just gross.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie MacCracken's Celtic Pub also viewed

 

Been to Johnnie MacCracken's Celtic Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing