We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The musical we attended was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earl Smith Strand Theatre

Earl Smith Strand Theatre
Ranked #7 of 43 things to do in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The musical we attended was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I liked ther musical play we attended, but was somewhat disappointed in the theater, itself. A bit tired decorating, but fine just the same.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Magnificant old theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a fun theater to see a play or performance at. It has been re-done and is beautiful (small lobby) but the best thing about it is the organ that comes up to the stage from below and plays before the shows begin. We saw a great musical program with truly talented young adults that were absolutely wonderful. Fun to eat on the Square (we ate at Shillings) and then went the the play. Parking is right across the street in a 4 level city parking lot (hard to find a place right on the square. The square always has a lot of people just walking around...sometimes there are concerts there in the summer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Brew with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stopped at the Square for dinner and there was a concert happening that evening. So after dinner we decided to stay and listen to the music. Since we didn't bring chairs, we went up to the roof of the Strand, got a drink and sat on the deck. The view was great - saw the sunset behind the Kennesaw Mountains. Will definitely visit again. Loved sitting up there and looking over the crowd. So relaxing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank extra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Acoustics”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Two visits to the theater for musical programs have both been disappointing. Sound is not good. Part of the problem was the volume was too much for the size room. Maybe a few more sound tests befor the show would help.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Strand on Marietta Square: Delightful and Clever Theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

A rollicking version of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat by the Atlanta Lyric Theatre company just opened, and will play now through the end of June; we were delighted with this loose adaptation of Andrew Lloyd Webber's original. The musical numbers provided an array of musical styles, and the voices were top notch, even the children in the production were exceptionally good. Highlights were Pharoah, sung by an Elvis impersonator, and Joseph's brothers doin' the blues. There's something for everyone in this fun and surprising production, and the audiences ate it up! Speaking of dinner, there is a coupon in the program back cover for a discount at Shillings on the Square, a pub with more upscale dining upstairs. We preferred our dinner at Sugar Cakes (which is a French bakery with excellent small plates and more elegant entrees), also on the square in Historic Marietta, GA, just north of Atlanta. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earl Smith Strand Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Earl Smith Strand Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing