We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Southern Fare”
Review of Seed Kitchen & Bar

Seed Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #5 of 718 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roswell Rd
Description: Seed Kitchen & Bar is a chef driven, modern American neighborhood restaurant by Chef Doug Turbush located at Merchant's Walk in East Cobb. The expansive boutique wine program provides cherry picked wines at incredible values. Mixologists stir up vintage and modern takes on cocktails, and American and International Craft beers are on tap in this vibrant, sleek and modern setting designed by Ai3.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Southern Fare”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Birthday dinner for august birthdays. Appetizers of hush puppies & pork bellies were excellent in preparation & presentation. Very different for typical Southern food. Scallops were excellent as well as the other fish dinners our table mates had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donpbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    129
    39
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally a Quality Restaurant for East Cobb”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Seed operates on the concept of locally raised and grown. It is an excellent restaurant and I have never had a bad experience there. However, if the restaurant is full and you are eating inside it may be difficult to have a conversation with your dining companions. A hard of hearing person my not enjoy their experience. If the weather permits, I would rather eat on the patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marietta2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, GA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Three Star at best for our visit”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stopped by yesterday for the brunch and were not impressed. The staff was friendly, but slow. It took a good while for us to get our food and even longer to take care of our bill.

The biggest concern though was even though our food (both of us had the brisket hash) tasted really good we both had mild stomach aches for the rest of the day.
We will probably not go back as the place is a little expensive and we don't want to pay that much after one less than stellar outing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RaginCajun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service; hostess without a clue”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a very nice little restaurant out in a shopping center off Johnson Ferry Road in Marietta. It's a far distance from downtown Marietta and the Hilton Hotel in which we stayed. We had a little problem with our reservation which wouldn't have been so bad if the hostess had not wanted to argue with us. We knew what we had done and their system had changed things around. I tried to say they had some kind of problem but she wanted to insist that she was right and I was wrong. Made dinner less that it could have been. Our waiter did his best to make up for our opening horrors. The food was excellent as was his service. I had the fresh catch, my wife the pork pasta and my daughter had the deviled eggs and the hushpuppies appetizers as her entre. For dessert we had the banana cream pie (first rate!), the panna cotta (very, very good) and the chocolate peanut parfait (also delicious). If it weren't for the hostess, I would've given it 5 stars.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DMcR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suwanee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seed Kitchen & Bar”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

One of the chefs from the Buckhead group runs this restaurant so we expected really exceptional food. The pasta dish with pork came highly recommended, but was only average..and the pork lent no flavor to the dish. My husband had the scallops and found them to be quite good. No bread served with meal, salads extra...everything a la carte and quite expensive for a restaurant in a strip mall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank damalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seed Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing