We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Upscale' Pub!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlow's Tavern

Marlow's Tavern
Ranked #19 of 710 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened about 4 months now. A nice, local tavern with very good food.
Crescent, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“'Upscale' Pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

It's a pub in disguise. It's a pub without the look of a typical pub. The decor is upscale with bar food to match. Went late on a weekend night after the movies and the food was delicious. Ordered the Calamari as a meal and it did not disappoint. It came out hot, light and crispy. For those aficionados of Calamari, this place get's it. You know it's Calamari right away when it's brought out. You see tentacles and all. The dipping sauce is good. Kinda reminded me of Duck Sauce that one would get at a Chinese restaurant.
Service was fast and friendly for a weekend night with no wait to be seated. Maybe because it was 9:30p when we visited.
I've been before and it's consistent with the others in Alpharetta and Kennesaw. Good food, friendly service and cold beer that's non-domestic. Wish they still had the desserts in the mini martini glasses.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UnLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    17
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Neighborhood Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

After three visits to Marlow's we have really enjoyed the food. The asparagus fries are a welcomed change & the daily flat bread is always a fairly healthy choice. The sandwiches and the burgers seem to please everyone there.

The service we have encountered is a different story! Twice we have been waited on by very blase East Cobb coeds who could care less about the customer or the food. They have totally lacked excitement about their joy; therefore, making it a very dull lunch experience with no pizazz. On two of the three occasions we have had to hunt them down to pay the bill.

Final verdict- Very good food, but lackluster service.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drjsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I went on July 4th for the first time to this local place. We found it to be wonderful. Lots of people, great food. We had the burgers, which were perfect. we order the asparagus instead of fries. Definitely go.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCobbFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Outstanding New Spot in East Cobb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We were out running errands and decided to pick up lunch. Totally by fluke, we went into Marlow's Tavern, which is one of the new places in Merchant's Walk. We had planned on grabbing a quick bite to eat, but utlimately opted to go with the Sunday brunch buffet. Outstanding in every way!

Lots of interesting things on the menu, and a great outdoor porch, so we'll definitely go back again soon!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pricey and Noisy, but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Marlow's is pretty new to the area and we've tried it three times, with each time being the same: a long wait in a little tiny foyer area, a LOT of noise from the loud music and the crowds, and the prices are a bit steep even for East Cobb. I can definitely recommend the food,however; it's a cut above typical tavern food, with the best prime rib au jus sandwich and excellent martinis. I would recommend coming here on an off-day and time just to get a better overall experience.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeAve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlow's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Marlow's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing