We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The James Madison Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is an exceptionally appointed property in a charming historic town. Stayed in Broughton Sander - a delightful market view king. The staff were outstandingly courteous and helpful. The only reservation was that the quality of the complimentary breakfast did not really match the Inn’s standards and attention to detail. By which we don’t mean a lavish buffet but rather fresh or at least Tropicana style juice and better quality sausage, breads and pastries. The associated Town 220 restaurant was good as was Tequila Express.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 300 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed in this lovely botique hotel on my home from picking up at son at UGA! What a lovely treat? I have traveled a lot and am quite a snob when it comes to nice beds and linens and this was a true 5 Star experience. So beautiful but not stuffy or pretentious!
There is a lovely restaurant right across the street called Town 220 that is delicious and has great martinis! There is also an Aveda Spa across the street that I did not have a chance to visit in May but heard wonderful things about. Perhaps the best Antique Store I have ever been in is across the street called Madison Market. I am returning this Fall for a Girl's Get-A-Way and we are all counting the days until we can return to this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookwoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

My husband and I(late 50's) travelled from Atlanta to Madison, Ga. to the James Madison Inn for a quiet mid-summer retreat. From the first call to the last moments there, our stay was wonderful. When I called, Mary, the general manager, she made sure she understood what we were seeking and offered suggestions for both our interests and our budget(specials available in July/August). The decor is beautiful in this stately, immaculately kept inn. The front entry sitting room is well appointed with attractive art pieces and elegant furnishings. Luxury is carried into the spacious rooms with lovely, soft easy chairs, a comfortable bed with tufted oversize upholstered headboard and a large fireplace. The bathroom with white updated decor and large walk-in shower added to an already luxurious room. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served in the Oak Room as part of the package. We brought cheese and drinks from home and when we mentioned keeping it cold, Mary offered and then personally carried a small refrigerator to our room(free of charge). Attention to detail is an added bonus. When we expressed our interests, the staff organized brochures, suggested activities and restaurants and assisted in planning. A friendly staff member was always at the front desk and consistently offered to assist us and provided for our every need. The Aveda Spa is affiliated with the Inn and the Inn staff organized a spa appointment, offered a coupon and advised us of an incredible special. This turned out to be a 3 1/2 hr. experience of restorative luxury. All in all, our trip to the James Madison Inn was just superb. The outstanding service and luxury accommodations provided the restful get away that we were seeking. We strongly recommend a trip to this lovely inn!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLS_MEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Boutique hotels are my favorite and the James Madison did not disappoint. The reason I like boutiques so well is the level of service that far surpasses any other type of hotel. The James Madison has an excellent location within walking distance of this charming southern town. The rooms were beautiful, the bed comfortable, the breakfast was plenty and the service was the perfect blend of professionalism and warmth. The room is furnished with things that are beautiful, but not long wearing. I suppose this is what makes it so comfortable, but it will be interesting to see if the hotel stays on top of this. I would be greatly saddened to return in a year or two to find a tired and worn looking room. I am certain we will take the risk of finding out; what a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lusciouskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we experienced nothing less than the utmost "royal treatment" from Mary, Ryan, and the rest of the staff employed by The James Madison Inn. They all were available at any given time to help with the minutest detail. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. I've had back problems for some years now, and usually dread sleeping in a bed other than our own, but I felt great in the morning with no pain in my lower back. It was one of the most accommodating places we have ever stayed. I would highly recommend the James Madison Inn to anyone who visits Madison, GA either for business or pleasure. I look forward to staying there again sometime in the future.

Dr. Jim and Elaine Dollens
Roswell, GA

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjtdollens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Went to Madison for long weekend with wife. I had high hopes for this Inn from what I had read. Boy did it live up to my expectations! Great place to stay!! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texas9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Girls weekend/suite delightful/amenities swell/staff super friendly/ adjacent restaurant good food, good service, prices right/nice house wine/ In another city, the price for this kind of special accommodations and service would be twice the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediemgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kirby House
Kirby House
#3 of 7 in Madison
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#5 of 7 in Madison
44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Madison
Super 8 Madison
#2 of 6 in Madison
317 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Madison, GA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Madison Inn

Address: 260 W Washington St, Madison, GA 30650-1210 (Formerly The James Madison Inn and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: $159 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Madison, The James Madison Inn and Conference Center is within walking distance of antebellum homes, graceful parks, stellar shops, art & antique galleries, spas and fine restaurants. It is elegantly appointed and offers a unique, luxurious way to experience Madison. Seventeen rooms and two suites in this boutique hotel set the stage for luxurious Southern hospitality. With paintings of landmarks, custom furniture and peerless service, the inn brings local lore and Southern charm to life for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The James Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing