We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visit for Masters”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Madison Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Repeat Visit for Masters”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The James Madison Inn has become our favorite place to stay when going to the Masters. It is about 1 1/4 hours from Augusta and is an easy drive from ATL. The Inn is not on the Freeway but in the town of Madison about 3 miles from the exit. Being in the town offers several nice restaurants in the town square. You get a room in a historic building and the staff are all very nice. Breakfast is a buffet including waffle-maker, quiche, meats, pastries, etc.
We have reserved one of the suites each time because we have 3 people (2nd bed is a sofa bed). There is a small kitchen in the hallway between the two rooms and it is very nice. There are only 2 drawbacks with the Inn and they are the same as previous. The walls are not very thick so if your neighbors are loud, you will hear them (same as rowdy folks outside). Luckily all was pretty quiet by 11:00. Also, at least one train comes thru town each morning. This time the train blew its horn between 4 and 4:30 am each day. It's not the Inn's fault, but just fact.

We had an enjoyable stay and look forward to returning if we get Masters tickets again.

Room Tip: If you have 3 people, reserve one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    33
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
160
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at the Inn for three days. It was a wonderful experience. Rooms are relaxing and come well equipped to have a relaxing evening. Customer service was exceptional and location was close to shops and resturants. I will be back and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The second floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here one night for a wedding across the street at Variety Works. The property is like taking a step back in time into a beautiful southern plantation style inn. The hotel is very well-maintained and the staff was extremely professional and respectful. The room had a HUGE bathroom with plenty of room for two people to get ready, as well as a small parlor/sitting area. The Wifi connected with ease and was very fast. The hotel is also located right in the downtown area and is walking distance to many of Madison's top restaurants and tourist destinations. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

PROS: The location is great--very near shopping and restaurants downtown. The staff was very nice. The bed was comfortable.
But considering the rates, this stay could have been better.
CONS: Several outlets in the room did not work, and since they put an adapter in one outlet, they knew about it, but went ahead and left lamps and clocks in bad outlets anyway so it took me awhile to figure it out and get things working. There was toothpaste all over the sink when I arrived. The breakfast is very average. There were no drawers to unpack anything. The wifi signal was hit and miss and unusable.
It is a beautiful hotel, but there is more to a good stay than looks.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have drawers to unpack anything--be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athbirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmadisoninn, General Manager at The James Madison Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear athbirdlady,
Thank you for your helpful review of your recent stay with us. If I may, I'd like to provide insights regarding some of the details mentioned in your critique. Our bedside lamps are outfitted with multi-functional outlets. Our rooms have labeled switches by the door which operate one of two receptacles in each outlet (intended for the bedside lamps). The other receptacle in each outlet is a traditional live connection. The extension adapters you mentioned should have been in the live receptacle, and are to allow for more options not tied to a light switch.

Our Wi-Fi network and was just upgraded this year. We have only seen a few issues so far, but they have actually been attributed to the connecting device. I'm not sure if something similar was happening in your case. You're spot on with your tip to ask for a room with a chest of drawers. The original design of our hotel rooms did not call for this amenity, and we've have been outfitting the rooms as we're able with a antique furniture pieces as a solution. I'm afraid, your room assignment, just happened to be in one that we have yet to outfit, however luggage racks are provided in all of our rooms. Albeit not ideal, we would have been more than happy to address any of your concerns had they been reported during your stay.

We're thrilled you enjoyed our locally made mattresses and convenient downtown location. In fact, we have sold a lot of these mattresses to guests after they have experienced them. We hope to have you back as our guest again sooner than later.

Sincerely,
Jake Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I surprised my husband to an overnight stay at the James Madison Inn and it was beyond my expectations. I worked for a luxury hotel company for several years and I felt the service and rooms here were equivalent. The room was very nice; in fact, I took pictures to use as a guide for the bedroom we build in our new house. The bed was comfortable. The decor was transitional and very fitting for the inn. It was a perfect, quaint and romantic getaway for his birthday. We had dinner at Town 220 Bistro and it was so good! Just steps from the Inn so very convenient. Madison is a lovely town and offers great shops and antiques. We also stopped at Perk Avenue for a glass of wine and yummy coconut cake bites. We will be back. Oh, and we only live 20 miles away and we felt like we were a world away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgarrett0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesmadisoninn, General Manager at The James Madison Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear lgarrett0811,
Your experience with us at The James Madison Inn, is our expectation and goal in standard of guest service. We often have couples escaping to Madison where there is a surprise involved. With our intimate number of rooms, we can provide the attention to detail in guest experiences such as your own, and this is fun for us too. It's special when you feel like you've truly escaped and only live 20 minutes away!

The fact that you worked in the hotel industry yourself and spoke of your experience so positively is music to our ears. Thank you again for sharing your experience at our Inn, and we can't wait for you and your husband to return as our guests.

Until then,
Jake Grant
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I had a great time on our getaway to Madison! The James Madison Inn and Town 220 restaurant were the main reasons we went but the spa, Riccardo's, and the vintage shops were awesome too. The rooms are so cozy and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We did not know what to expect when when we arrived but was thoroughly surprised. What we loved was the place matched the pics. The upkeep was very good. Diane showed us the suite which was right across .from our room. and we were amazed. The fireplace is such a great added touch.
There were 2 things which kept it from being excellent. When we arrived we could not find teh handicap entrance as it was not highlighted in plain sight. The vending machine was not working. It did not keep our money but also did not dispense the product.

Room Tip: Try and get a second floor room to possibly have a better view and maybe miss some the 1st floor roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafiqtheemcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
313 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Madison
Days Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
30 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Madison
Quality Inn Madison
#6 of 6 in Madison
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Madison Inn

Property: The James Madison Inn
Address: 260 W Washington St, Madison, GA 30650-1210 (Formerly The James Madison Inn and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Madison, The James Madison Inn and Conference Center is within walking distance of antebellum homes, graceful parks, stellar shops, art & antique galleries, spas and fine restaurants. It is elegantly appointed and offers a unique, luxurious way to experience Madison. Seventeen rooms and two suites in this boutique hotel set the stage for luxurious Southern hospitality. With paintings of landmarks, custom furniture and peerless service, the inn brings local lore and Southern charm to life for guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing