We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure why it got such high reviews?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amici Italian Cafe

Amici Italian Cafe
Ranked #9 of 55 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Amici Madison is located on the square in historic Downtown Madison, GA. Establish in 1993, Amici has become a "staple" of Madison, GA and is known to most as "Madison's Living Room". An Italian Pizzeria, serving everything from pizzas and pastas to wings, to sandwiches and salads. Our Madison location features outdoor seating on the sidewalk of Madison, GA, with a beautiful view of downtown and the Court House, and also features a bar with bottle beer and wine only. We are located right downtown!
Marietta GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not sure why it got such high reviews?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were there on a weekday afternoon, and were practically the only customers. Although our waitress was efficient, she spent most of her time with the rest of the staff in the back playing some kind of noisy game with much laughing and yelling. The customers at the other table left, and the waitress did not clear it. When an older man came in, assuming he was the manager,, he began clearing the table. Staff still playing around, he said nothing to them. And now the food. Ordered calamari, standard in Italian restaurant. It was rubbery and they had cleverly extended the portion by including a number of breaded and fried banana pepper rings. Actually they were the best part of the order. My husband ordered chicken tenders and the fries were the best part of the order. Table was sticky; need I say more. I really chose wrong based on reviews, when there were better choices close by. Incidentally, we grew up in Chicago and we know good Italian food when we find it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank speedhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent Italian Food in a Charming Small Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a classic bar/Italian restaurant -- very casual with prices that match. Beer and wine are of good value. The pizza is decent. I remember it better from previous years but I certainly had nothing to complain about with the one I had last week. The meatballs are fantastic but the tomato sauce is forgettable - almost like getting out of a can. I absolutely loved my friend's fettucine alfredo -- and I usually hate that dish. The Cesar salad is no Cesar salad but I thought it was awesome anyways.

This is a casual joint where the service is friendly and the food is decent. Just don't try the tomato sauce!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YazBeanSaysMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful dinner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My grandmother took the family to dinner here, we had a WONDERFUL time, It was the yummiest dinner I've ever had there! The waitress was fantastic, the pizza was outstanding, and the salads were very fresh and delish. I would recommend to anyone looking to have a wonderful lunch, or dinner in a wonderful small town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Thanks General Sherman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A good small town - downtown restaurant. The kind of place that we look for when we travel, where the locals eat. Shared the Antipasto Salad and a Tuscan Calzone and had more than we could eat. Both were great, the service was good, I felt I got a piece of Madison a southern city that should be seen and experienced. Thanks General William Sherman for sparing Madison.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic little Italian place in downtown area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great food, reasonably priced, loved the atmosphere. Would come back here in a heartbeat! Not so fond of the trivia night (yeah, we were in last place so sour grapes are included) but the owners are definitely engaged and others were having a good time so no ding here at all.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDaveB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amici Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing