We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passing Through....”

Madison-Morgan Welcome Center
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Be sure not to miss Madison as you're traveling down interstate I-20 or Hwy 441! A magical southern city just an hour east of Atlanta, Madison is the town Sherman refused to burn on his infamous March to the Sea. Its National Register Historic District is one of the state's largest collections of 19th century architecture, earning it a place on Budget Travel Magazine's 2012 list as one of "16 Most Picturesque Villages in the World" and Travel Holiday Magazine's 2001 "#1 Small Town in America." Madison combines with nearby Rutledge to house more than 170 antiques dealers, 40 boutiques and 20 unique eateries. Located right on Madison's downtown square, our Welcome Center is open 7 days a week to assist you with your traveling needs and we're always happy to show you the many things to see and do in our beautiful town! Come visit us, won't you?!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

We were traveling back home from Savannah to Arkansas and decided to take the back roads, stopping wherever we wanted and smell the flowers along the way! We came into Madison just before 10:30 in the morning and stopped at the beautiful Welcome Center. We got to talking with the sweetest lady who was working there and she told us the history of the building that is now the Welcome Center. I fell in love with Madison! The Courthouse and Post Office are all right there too. As we sat on the bench having our picnic lunch by the Post Office, across the street from the center, the bell on top of the Courthouse started to chime, telling us the time...11:00am. It was beautiful! We both wish we'd had more time to linger, but we needed to move on...more places to stop and smell the flowers! Madison is definitely a place we want to go back and see more of!

Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison H, Public Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Thank you so much for your sweet review. It makes us so happy when visitors share their experiences from their time in town. It sounds like you might have caught Madison fever! Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 13 reviews
"first stop"
in 8 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 6 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 4 reviews
"great place to get"
in 3 reviews
"delightful town"
in 3 reviews
"surrounding area"
in 3 reviews
"local sites"
in 2 reviews
"big smile"
in 2 reviews
"post office"
in 2 reviews
"our short stay"
in 2 reviews
"county courthouse"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 4 reviews
"sandwich"
in 2 reviews
"three times"
in 2 reviews
"antebellum homes"
in 4 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 2 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 121 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2017

Stopped in the welcome center three times for maps, and info. Each time was a different person, but each were so friendly and helpful

Thank vincetheelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison H, Public Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Thanks for your feedback. Each member of our Welcome Center team will be so happy to hear of your 3 for 3 wonderful experience! You're welcome back in Madison anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

The employees are good and are ready to help you plan your visit. Madison is lucky to be a town picked for movie making and I find the staff always knows what is happening when.

Thank JanMadison_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison H, Public Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2017

We are so glad you found our Welcome Center to be helpful and informative. Whether it's a festival or filming, there's always something going on in Madison! We appreciate your five star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Ar conditioning, water, bathroom and LOTS of information. People were very friendly and helpful. Madison is a beautiful little town, one of the few that survived Gen. Sherman troops intact. The city has also an APP that you can download that guides us through the historical sites.

Thank Virgilio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison H, Public Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Thanks for the review! Our Welcome Center staff loves meeting and helping visitors such as yourself and we're super happy you had a great experience in Madison! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed a lengthy conversation with Billie in the Visitors Center because I was an early bird but businesses didn't open until 10AM. She directed me to galleries and antique stores that matched my interests. She also offered a great walking map and town information brochure. I visited many of the sites she told me about, including Heritage Hall, and found everyone I encountered in town to be helpful and friendly. Tip: feel comfortable leaving your car parked for 2-hour limit on the square but move it after lunch to another spot and continue your afternoon. Really terrific antique shops and specialty boutiques.Nice public bathrooms.

Thank NP1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison H, Public Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Thank you for your great review! It makes us at the Welcome Center so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Madison. We really love our visitors so as long as you have out of county tags on your vehicle, you're good to park downtown without worry of a ticket. We hope you can come back again soon to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison-Morgan Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Madison-Morgan Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing