We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly welcome”

Madison-Morgan Welcome Center
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Be sure not to miss Madison as you're traveling down interstate I-20 or Hwy 441! A magical southern city just an hour east of Atlanta, Madison is the town Sherman refused to burn on his infamous March to the Sea. Its National Register Historic District is one of the state's largest collections of 19th century architecture, earning it a place on Budget Travel Magazine's 2012 list as one of "16 Most Picturesque Villages in the World" and Travel Holiday Magazine's 2001 "#1 Small Town in America." Madison combines with nearby Rutledge to house more than 170 antiques dealers, 40 boutiques and 20 unique eateries. Located right on Madison's downtown square, our Welcome Center is open 7 days a week to assist you with your traveling needs and we're always happy to show you the many things to see and do in our beautiful town! Come visit us, won't you?!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 14, 2016

We were stopping in Madison on our trip from Atlanta to Savannah.
This little town worth some extra miles out of the busy freeway.
We strongly recommend the welcome center!! The hostess is super friendly and welcomes you with a lot of useful information and suggestions. You can even download an app that guides you for free through the path among the beautiful antebellum houses.
We definetly loved this place and its Southern friendliness.

1  Thank MonicaT963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen S, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

It is so kind of you to recommend our little town and a visit to the Welcome Center, Monica! Madison is a special place indeed, and we love sharing it with folks from all over the world. We hope you enjoyed Savannah as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 14 reviews
"first stop"
in 8 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 6 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 4 reviews
"great place to get"
in 3 reviews
"delightful town"
in 3 reviews
"surrounding area"
in 3 reviews
"local sites"
in 2 reviews
"big smile"
in 2 reviews
"post office"
in 2 reviews
"our short stay"
in 2 reviews
"county courthouse"
in 2 reviews
"free app"
in 2 reviews
"sandwich"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 4 reviews
"three times"
in 2 reviews
"antebellum homes"
in 4 reviews
Filter

55 - 59 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

That's what the sign said on the front doors, they answered all our questions and spent time explaining the different homes and museums.

Thank C7812OYmarkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen S, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Thanks for your "awesome" feedback! We hope you enjoyed your time in Madison and will return again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

They were super helpful and had genuine Southern hospitality! The free app was AWESOME!! It had a full self-guided audio tour with a map and pictures.

2  Thank jmhammond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

We are so glad you liked our free app! Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. It is so helpful to other travelers. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Definitely stop by the Welcome Center. The hostess there will gift you with some maps that will show you where all the historic houses are and their names. She also gives her two-sense on what she thinks is a must-see on your adventure if you ask her. Super sweet girl. Such a charming, Southern, historic town.. and one of my favorites.

3  Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Thanks so much for sharing your experience, Danielle. Y'all come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Although we have been through Madison stopping on occasion we had never visited the welcome center. On this day we were curious about the tours available. We were warmly greeted by an enthusiastic and knowledgable lady who proceeded to give us very helpful details about the different tours available. She was friendly and we shared a few stories back and forth and had a few laughs. She gave us other information about the town, location of restroom facilities and places to eat. Her pleasant, friendly personality added to the enjoyment of our day and her recommendations put us on the right track!

Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

It is always so nice when we have time to really get to know our visitors. We are fortunate to meet so many interesting folks like yourselves every day. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison-Morgan Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Madison-Morgan Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing