We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fascinating Tour!

The three of us were utterly captivated by our tourguide’s (Ben’s) descriptions of the history of... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Susan G
,
Silver Spring, Maryland
via mobile
door sign saya it all

Sign on door say "Come In We are awesome"......we did & they were. Bubbly staff member shared bunch... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
ValerieBenn
,
Jacksonville, Florida
Read all 135 reviews
  
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
109
24
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour first stop friendly staff clean restrooms great place to get local sites big smile great town our short stay county courthouse free app historic area sandwich small town three times post office antebellum homes
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 135 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

That's what the sign said on the front doors, they answered all our questions and spent time explaining the different homes and museums.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank C7812OYmarkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen S, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Thanks for your "awesome" feedback! We hope you enjoyed your time in Madison and will return again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016

They were super helpful and had genuine Southern hospitality! The free app was AWESOME!! It had a full self-guided audio tour with a map and pictures.

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank jmhammond4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2016

We are so glad you liked our free app! Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. It is so helpful to other travelers. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Definitely stop by the Welcome Center. The hostess there will gift you with some maps that will show you where all the historic houses are and their names. She also gives her two-sense on what she thinks is a must-see on your adventure if you ask her. Super sweet girl. Such a charming, Southern, historic town.. and one of my favorites.

Date of experience: November 2015
3  Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

Thanks so much for sharing your experience, Danielle. Y'all come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Although we have been through Madison stopping on occasion we had never visited the welcome center. On this day we were curious about the tours available. We were warmly greeted by an enthusiastic and knowledgable lady who proceeded to give us very helpful details about the different tours available. She was friendly and we shared a few stories back and forth and had a few laughs. She gave us other information about the town, location of restroom facilities and places to eat. Her pleasant, friendly personality added to the enjoyment of our day and her recommendations put us on the right track!

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

It is always so nice when we have time to really get to know our visitors. We are fortunate to meet so many interesting folks like yourselves every day. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016

Travelling out from Atlanta, or near Athens, Georgia (where the Georgia Bulldogs live), there is a little town called Madison, the County Seat of Morgan County, Georgia. This town is beautiful and charming. The visitor center is welcoming and offers maps and a friendly receptionist. The county courthouse is an extraordinary sight. Take a walking or driving tour of the many extraordinary ante-bellum homes, many of them representing various styles during the heyday of southern plantations. Nearly all the homes and churches are in excellent condition, obviously a great source of pride to their owners and the town. The town is dotted with bistros, antique and gift shops and many historical markers. We recommend driving over to Social Circle to dine at the Blue Willow Inn.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl C, Front Office Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

You ought to be a travel writer! Of course we treasure our town, but it's so nice to hear from visitors like you who recognize what a special place it is. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews