We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Madison-Morgan Welcome Center
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Be sure not to miss Madison as you're traveling down interstate I-20 or Hwy 441! A magical southern city just an hour east of Atlanta, Madison is the town Sherman refused to burn on his infamous March to the Sea. Its National Register Historic District is one of the state's largest collections of 19th century architecture, earning it a place on Budget Travel Magazine's 2012 list as one of "16 Most Picturesque Villages in the World" and Travel Holiday Magazine's 2001 "#1 Small Town in America." Madison combines with nearby Rutledge to house more than 170 antiques dealers, 40 boutiques and 20 unique eateries. Located right on Madison's downtown square, our Welcome Center is open 7 days a week to assist you with your traveling needs and we're always happy to show you the many things to see and do in our beautiful town! Come visit us, won't you?!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The woman at the desk was very helpful in giving directions of what we wanted to see and was really sweet in general. I wish we had gotten her name.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison W, Guest Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are so happy you had a great experience here in Madison and hope you return real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly is a beautiful town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed all day in Madison during a road trip that had us moving quickly from town to town. Madison was just so peaceful and inviting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison G, Guest Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Blush! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back soon, and hopefully for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
381 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A must stop if in the area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stop here first if you are planning to spend some time in the town of Madison. The staff is very friendly and the restrooms are clean. Get a map of the town for a wonderful self-guided walking tour of the town & homes. The staff explained the walking tour, the price of touring some of the homes (recommended) and even gave us suggestions for kid friendly dining.

Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison G, Guest Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words! We are so happy you made us part of your trip! Hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“leaflets a plenty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very helpful lady in the centre and very friendly, lots of advice and many leaflets and maps to give out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison G, Guest Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for the kind words and for stopping in to see us! We hope you make it back to us for another visit real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The lady who looked after us in the Welcome Center was so nice, and very informative about the area. We left loaded down with maps, brochures on walking tours, and lots of other interesting information on the area around Madison and further south along the trail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison G, Guest Relations Manager at Madison-Morgan Welcome Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your oh so kind words! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison-Morgan Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Madison-Morgan Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing