We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locals love it, great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tequila Express Cafe - CLOSED

Tequila Express Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Locals love it, great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Not very expensive, but fun and funky. It's like someone opened a bar inside a greek-style classic diner, and then put a chef in charge of the kitchen. We had fun, good service and good food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Confusing name for Greek-Italian food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

NO FRILLS. This is basically a sit down food truck. Food is good, but as my BF would say: not something i'd wake up in the middle of the night for. Had the baked feta with pita which was served in tinfoil...different, but very tasty, and super reasonable in price. We came for dinner, but just settled on an appetizer. Seems to be a very popular place in town.... unique is a good all-around word.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephNOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, OK service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I ordered some food to go and was bummed that they got our order wrong. The wait for the food the first time around was very long. The staff seemed bothered by our "to go" request. The food however - was amazing. Order the feta cheese back appetizer - it made all the hassle worth it. Perhaps a "dine in" situation would be more pleasant next time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrscoleGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my second time eating here. I was here once before with my wife, and liked it enough to come back while in town with a friend. We were there for a pretty late lunch, so it was very quiet. The place is small, and harmless enough decor-wise. It's very casual, and not a tourist trap like many of the other restaurants in town.

I had the fish tacos, and unlike the previous reviewer, found them to be rather tasty. Grilled fish (tilapia, I'd guess), lettuce and tomato, drizzled with a creamy feta sauce. Loved the fact that I could order corn tortillas instead of flour tortillas. My friend had the Mediterranean Wrap, and seemed to enjoy it as well. Both came with a side salad that was pretty large. The place seemed to have a decent beer and wine selection for a small restaurant.

All in all, tasty food, very reasonably priced in a casual atmosphere...I'll be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scootermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went there a year ago and me and my husband each had a burger it wasnt terrible but nothing we had to comeback for. We havent been back since till just recently because we wanted to give it another chance. I ordered the fish tacos that come with rice and beans, which was what the waitress said was really really good. I got my plate with my canned refried beans that had been smashed and smeared by a spoon just to get on the plate, in this case even presentation might not have helped. Cold rice that needed about 45 more seconds in the microwave. Then the tacos.....hard to swallow and smelt funny and tasted not right. I couldnt stomach it and i lost my appetite. My husband got a pasta chicken dish and said it was bland but edible. I try not to complain but this was something right out of Kitchen Nightmares with Chef Gordan Ramsey. If you can get out of Madison then i suggest it because most of the food with the exception of Town 220 is terrible!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila Express Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing