We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Cross Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Madison(Madison)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Madison(Madison)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Inn(Madison)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirby House(Madison)
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge(Greensboro)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
198
20
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
20
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingthe barnthe kitchen staffevery mealexperienced riderscattle baronother guestsafternoon ridelove horsescategory roomfood was wonderfulhorse loveraqua massageall inclusive packageguest houseoffice staffper day
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 227 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love staying at B & B's and that's why we chose Southern Cross ( found it on BandB.com ) for a visit with family in the area.First of all, the category 5 room was beautiful. King bed, fireplace,huge bathroom with jacuzzi for 2 and large shower as well as double sinks. But lousy water pressure in the shower ! Breakfast is certainly not what you usually find at a B and B. It's served buffet style ( think motel breakfast) We were not riding but we still had to be in the dining area before 8:45 to get breakfast and then the coffee ran out and the food that was being kept warm under lights wasn't warm anymore. We didn't eat any other meals but the breakfast was certainly not what we expected for the cost of the B and B plan.
We brought family to visit the ranch one afternoon and my 8 year old granddaughter had a wonderful riding experience. I was impressed that it was a lot more than just getting on a horse for a ride. It provided a memorable afternoon for her interacting with "her" horse Lucy .
I would not stay here again for $210.00 a night and a lousy breakfast but I would certainly bring my granddaughter back again to ride the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cherokee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scgranch, Manager at Southern Cross Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed both your accommodations and riding experience. However, we regret that we failed to meet your expectations for breakfast following your overnight stay with us. Our breakfast buffet is freshly prepared from scratch and cooked each morning (i.e. fresh bacon or sausage, home-made drop biscuits and gravy, French toast, etc). We feel it may be unjust to compare it to a “motel breakfast” that is simply reheated commercially pre-cooked products. We've also found that a nice, freshly cooked buffet is preferred by most over a relatively limited selection and portion size found at many B&Bs. It’s likely your experience may be reflective of coming very late to breakfast. We concede the 8am serving time could be inconvenient for some of our guests not on our horseback riding plan wishing to sleep in (some don’t even make it up for lunch). Most guests arrive around 8am or shortly thereafter as recommended for the best breakfast experience.

The $210 rate referenced is entirely reflective of the upgraded Category 5 (deluxe) room selected. Standard rooms were available for just $80 which featured the same complimentary home-cooked breakfast, unlimited soft drinks, snacks, fruit, and desserts – a value that’s hard to beat.

Again, we sincerely appreciate your comments as we continually strive to best meet the needs of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My friends & I stayed here for a weekend recently & haven't stopped raving about the place. Well appointed rooms, professional staff who treat you as their personal guest, delicious meals, all nestled in this most scenic, serene atmosphere. Reminded me of my childhood vacations in the Adirondack mountains. Better than we anticipated, great value, and looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laz9760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love this place!! I love horses and the southern charm of GA and thought this would be a great place to stay. My mom and I were have a week of vacationing together so this ended up being a place we stayed at along the way. It's such a relaxing place to stay, especially being able to watch the horses in the pasture (where a lot of people go out and walk around to visit them) and to see all the horses at the barn. This trip we chose not to ride but in years prior I did ride. If you are an experienced rider they do allow you to go out on your own to ride the property, something I loved! The food was incredible and I ate too much because it was sooo good. I would definitely visit again someday. I think anyone who loves horses and relaxation should visit here!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are nice but the larger rooms you get a better location and view. Visit their website for more detailed room catagories.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShowTheWorldYouCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

the family atmosphere, the food, and the friendly service is wonderful. they really know their horses and do their best to match you with a horse that you will get along with. when you first ride they give you a saddle that is yours for the time you are there. the trails are beautiful, the food is great, and the accommodation are beautiful and very clean! great family vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. Ths staff are so nice and nothing is too much. The room I had was a 5cat ( they upgraded me at no extra charge due to a mix up in bookings ) so it had a huge bed, nice and comfy, a remote fireplace, a flat screen tv, and doors into the bathroom, with a whirlpool bath and large shower. There was always hot water at anytime of day for a shower or bath, plenty of towels. The food was great, always something for everyone, the list is too extensive, but everything from bad sugary nice things to fresh fruit and salad. There is a hot tub by the pool ready for a nice soak after riding. Most things you can read on their site about the facilities, but is is the atmosphere that they give to the place that is special, it is a family rn place with family values, have a good time but respect the other visitors....it is lights out at 10pm...you are in a guest house not detatched cabins.......... a few nights i did have rowdy people next door , so that was a shame. Th riding is in the woods, so dont expect great views, once you have been out on a ride a couple of times there will be nothing new to see, so go on the trip to the Hard Labor Creek , you have to pay extra, as the horses are trucked over, but is is nice to have a change of scenery if you are there for a week. The horses are lovely and well looked after, and so gentle. Downtown Madison is only 10mins away and if there is something on there it will be worth a visit...........it is a quiet break away from everything so if you are after too much, don't go there....leave those who enjoy a gentle quiet time to enjoy this place....THANK YOU SOUTHERN CROSS

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyholsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews