We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Cross Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Super 8 by Wyndham Madison(Madison)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Inn(Madison)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirby House(Madison)
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Madison(Madison)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Lodge(Greensboro)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
198
20
7
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
20
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingthe barnthe kitchen staffevery mealexperienced riderscattle baronother guestsafternoon ridelove horsescategory roomfood was wonderfulhorse loveraqua massageall inclusive packageguest houseoffice staffper day
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 227 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My friends & I stayed here for a weekend recently & haven't stopped raving about the place. Well appointed rooms, professional staff who treat you as their personal guest, delicious meals, all nestled in this most scenic, serene atmosphere. Reminded me of my childhood vacations in the Adirondack mountains. Better than we anticipated, great value, and looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laz9760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love this place!! I love horses and the southern charm of GA and thought this would be a great place to stay. My mom and I were have a week of vacationing together so this ended up being a place we stayed at along the way. It's such a relaxing place to stay, especially being able to watch the horses in the pasture (where a lot of people go out and walk around to visit them) and to see all the horses at the barn. This trip we chose not to ride but in years prior I did ride. If you are an experienced rider they do allow you to go out on your own to ride the property, something I loved! The food was incredible and I ate too much because it was sooo good. I would definitely visit again someday. I think anyone who loves horses and relaxation should visit here!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are nice but the larger rooms you get a better location and view. Visit their website for more detailed room catagories.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShowTheWorldYouCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

the family atmosphere, the food, and the friendly service is wonderful. they really know their horses and do their best to match you with a horse that you will get along with. when you first ride they give you a saddle that is yours for the time you are there. the trails are beautiful, the food is great, and the accommodation are beautiful and very clean! great family vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. Ths staff are so nice and nothing is too much. The room I had was a 5cat ( they upgraded me at no extra charge due to a mix up in bookings ) so it had a huge bed, nice and comfy, a remote fireplace, a flat screen tv, and doors into the bathroom, with a whirlpool bath and large shower. There was always hot water at anytime of day for a shower or bath, plenty of towels. The food was great, always something for everyone, the list is too extensive, but everything from bad sugary nice things to fresh fruit and salad. There is a hot tub by the pool ready for a nice soak after riding. Most things you can read on their site about the facilities, but is is the atmosphere that they give to the place that is special, it is a family rn place with family values, have a good time but respect the other visitors....it is lights out at 10pm...you are in a guest house not detatched cabins.......... a few nights i did have rowdy people next door , so that was a shame. Th riding is in the woods, so dont expect great views, once you have been out on a ride a couple of times there will be nothing new to see, so go on the trip to the Hard Labor Creek , you have to pay extra, as the horses are trucked over, but is is nice to have a change of scenery if you are there for a week. The horses are lovely and well looked after, and so gentle. Downtown Madison is only 10mins away and if there is something on there it will be worth a visit...........it is a quiet break away from everything so if you are after too much, don't go there....leave those who enjoy a gentle quiet time to enjoy this place....THANK YOU SOUTHERN CROSS

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyholsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just want to thank everyone at Southern Cross for a great time! I had the opportunity, thanks to my good friend, to experience this wonderful ranch. I especially want to thank our guides "Big Dave" and Elizabeth for a wonderful riding experience. From start to finish (and one of those days being completely filled with riders and missing 5 helpers) things moved smoothly. It totally amazed me how well kept these horses were and how exceptionally friendly they were! The food was great and the room was perfect! Friendly staff, and from what I could see, all guests were having a great time. I loved the added home touch of wondering pets around the ranch. Very homey! Again, thanks to all for a great experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dscardina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews