We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Providence Canyon State Park”

Providence Canyon State Outdoor Recreation Area
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Lumpkin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A strange land formation called "The Little Grand Canyon."
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Providence Canyon State Park”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited July 4th weekend. Raining and flooding for several days so we opted out of visiting the canyon floor. We took the 3 mile loop trail. Very rigorous for someone who is not a frequent hiker. It was very hot and muggy when we went... take lots of water!

If you don't want to walk the whole loop, the end of the trail is to the left of the ranger station. Follow that part of the trail and all of the views of the canyon are available. Most of the rest of the 3 miles are overgrown areas with no view of the canyon at all.

Nice side trip from our stay at Florence Marina, just 8 miles away

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank elektrawmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    75
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
S
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful stop”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This canyon is a surprise to find, and very pretty. A myriad of vibrant colors, with plant life, birds and a very peaceful setting. If you're going to Westville, this is a short drive from there and well worth it. Stroll along the fencing to find the perfect spots to capture the landscape. Enjoy a picnic at one of their picnic tables, and simply relax.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite place in all of SW Georgia”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

There is something new to experience on every visit. The season, the time of day and the weather impact the beauty that awaits. There is a mildly rigorous trail with three very steep inclines. If you enjoy nature and woods, it is fantastic. The site of the canyons is incredible from both the canyon floor and from above. Truly a natural wonder.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AKomaACJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super day trip from Atlanta”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

3 and 7 mile hiking loops (moderate). Great canyon views. Camping spots available in woods. 2.5 hours from Atlanta.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank videsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I'm glad that we decided to see canyon. We took a short hike down to the bottom. The walls were beautiful to see. Knowing the history of the canyon added interest to our visit. We only live about an hour away, but I am not sure that a longer drive would be worth it. Definitely see it if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloridaAndLovingIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Providence Canyon State Outdoor Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Providence Canyon State Outdoor Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing