We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wines”

McWilliam's Hanwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Hanwood
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set in the midst of the unique Australian landscape is the McWilliam's Hanwood Estate Winery. Established in 1917, the winery stands today as a pillar of winemaking excellence dedicated to creating the very best wines.The Hanwood Barrel provides a great setting for a truly memorable wine tasting experience. We invite you to visit the Mc William's Hanwood Estate Cellar Door and sample a selection of the award winning wines (RV friendly parking). Winery Tours: Departing Thursdays 11:45am. Bookings Required Cost: $5 Basic Tour $15 Premium Tour (incl antipasto platter upon conclusion & free glass of wine).
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Wines”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Visited during the VIP Discovery Function Weekend and had a great visit. Informative and enjoyable thanks to Claire who explained the wine business and all of the McWilliams organisation exploits. So nice to get a personal touch as she is a sixth generation McWilliams.
Oh yes the wines are great and of high quality with variety to suit most tastes.
McWilliams had decided to open the cellar door on the Sunday for the VIP Weekend.
Didn't get to do a full tour of the complex but I'm sure it would be eyeopening. Just the size of their Tank farm is impressive.

Make this a must if visiting Griffith area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chutneylover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kyabram
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice little tipple”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The staff were very helpful and the wines we sampled were of high quality. Joining the wine club gave us the added benefit of a nice discount on wine purchases and the discount even extends to meals which we utilised at the McWilliam's outlet in the Hunter Valley where meals are served

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superior wine-tasting experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited Hanwood on 22 August and were given a relaxing, informative and palate-pleasing experience, thanks to the enthusiasm, passion and knowledge of Claire, our hostess. Well done McWilliams and well done Claire for representing your family and organisation so professionally and enthusiastically. We might not have purchased many bottles on the day, but your brand, quality and breadth of range are now very much front of mind.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MixTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, Public Relations Manager at McWilliam's Hanwood Estate, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi MixTips,

We are glad to hear that your experience at McWilliam's Wines Hanwood Estate was a pleasant experience. Claire is a 6th generation member of the McWilliam family. We trust you enjoyed your wines and hope you get to experience many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service above and beyond”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Visited on Jan 5th on what could be described as an absolute heatwave.Excellent wines and excellent customer service.Thanks for the big bowl of cold water for our dog and offering cold drinks for the boys. 10/10 Thank you!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda B, Public Relations Manager at McWilliam's Hanwood Estate, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi AndyMOz,

Thanks for your review. We are glad that your experience at McWilliam's Wines Hanwood Estate was a pleasurable experience (minus the heat). If you do return to Griffith we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McWilliam's Hanwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing