We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chanticleer Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My husband and I live at the beach and were looking for a mountain getaway and chose The Chanticleer and are we glad we did. The Inn was absolutley beautiful. Everthing from the Owners/Innkeepers, the staff, guest room, public areas and grounds were just perfect. Located on the very top of Lookout Mountain and minutes away from downtown Chattanooga, made it the perfect location. The breakfasts, prepared fresh daily, were so delicious. The afternoon treats in the main lodge were some of the best sweets I have ever tasted, especially the peanut butter fudge.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carollube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 733 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a few days at this charming inn. The rooms are 1920s era stone cottages which have been completely updated and beautifully furnished. We have stayed in many B&Bs, and the food here is definitely better than average. The breakfasts were absolutely great, with a variety of choices available. The baked goods were especially outstanding, with yummy homemade breads daily. There was always an afternoon snack of freshly baked cookies, cake, & apple cider. We were lucky enough to catch the fall foliage at its peak on the mountain. We stayed in room #9, which featured a patio that was a little more private than the other rooms. It was so pleasant sitting out in the crisp air. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This facility is directly across the street from Rock City and just down the street from a Starbucks. I would definitely recommend this inn for a lovely getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antiquelover611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The owners and staff went out of their way to make the most of our stay. The Chanticleer is old and quaint from the outside but very warm and cozy on the inside. The owners have really thought of everything to make your stay the best. The breakfasts are delicious as well as the deserts served in the evening. Lookout Mountain itself is a very quiet neighborhood but perfect for a romantic getaway. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are looking forward to visiting again in the Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merleenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at the Chanticleer Inn while our son was visiting Covenant College, which is about five minutes away, for the weekend. Our room was very nice, very comfortable, and clean. The outside patio is a nice place to sit in the evenings and enjoy the weather and the sites from the top of the mountain. The area is beautiful and provides a great opportunity to hike or walk or drive around, whatever your choice is. When we went to breakfast, they had various breads and muffins and fruit available, which was plenty for us and quite good. Then one of the owners came over and told us that they were serving buttermilk pancakes, with the option of chocolate chips or blueberries, along with sausage for breakfast. The other food was quite good and plenty for us, so we declined, but the next table over got the pancakes, and they looked and smelled fantastic. We are very hopeful that our son chooses to go to Covenant, so that we can continue to go back to Chanticleer Inn on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemcc2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

After 4 nights at the Chanticleer, we can't wait to return. The location on Lookout Mountain was rustic and scenic, quiet and serene. There's just a short walk across the road to beautiful Rock City. The French Country decor of the rooms adds to the charm and ambience. Breakfast was different each day, quiche, blueberry pancakes, ham burrito, plus lots of fresh fruit and breads as well as great coffee. When we arrived, late Monday afternoon, slices of flourless chocolate cake were awaiting us. Our king-sized bed was excellent. The hosts are charming and helpful. A ten minute drive took us to hiking trails near the entrance to Ruby Falls and several Civil War sites. We enjoyed a nearby restaurant the first night, then drove a few minutes into town for some great meals. The Chanticleer was the perfect spot for visiting all of Chattanooga.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

A great location on Lookout Mtn across from Rock City. The room was very adequate, nicely furnished and clean. However, the bath was very small but totally redone & very tastefully decorated. The breakfast was very good and service good too. It was our second stay and we'll probably go back some day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyannaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We met my brother and his wife whom we had not seen since 1994. I guess "life got in the way" was the only reason we had for being so long not visiting. We live in West Virginia and they in Mississippi - Chanticleer was about half-way for each of us. We found it on Bedandbreakfast.com and were very pleased and pleasantly surprised at the inn. The breakfasts were incredible and the rooms very comfortable and roomy. The sun porch was made available to us both days for reminiscing, looking at pictures, talking about our children and grandchildren, and enjoying refreshments - some provided by Chanticleer and some from the local wine and cheese shop.

The inkeepers graciously offered the use of their laptop computer when our photo DVD failed to load and work properly in the room TV set. The large comfortable living room was much more condusive than our individual room for looking at the many photos we had both loaded to discs.

The restaurant recommendations were excellent and the hospitality of everyone at the inn was second to none. We would highly recommend the Chanticleer Inn Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking for a beautiful setting, comfortable rooms, and gracious hosts!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank WVTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lookout Mountain
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
5.1 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#36 of 96 in Chattanooga
337 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#34 of 96 in Chattanooga
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanticleer Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1300 Mockingbird Ln, Lookout Mountain, GA 30750-2516
Location: United States > Georgia > Lookout Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lookout Mountain
Price Range: $135 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chanticleer Inn Bed and Breakfast sits with distinction high atop Lookout Mountain. Across the street from Rock City Gardens and just 10 minutes from downtown Chattanooga, Tn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chanticleer Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanticleer Hotel Lookout Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing