We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The B&B is in a nice location, close to a lot of tourist attractions, and the area is very quiet and peaceful. The owners will help you when needed, but otherwise they leave you alone to enjoy your stay. The breakfasts each morning were delicious. I know everyone raves about the Peach French Toast, but I have to say, my favorite was the wild rice with sausage and water chestnuts that accompanied the chocolate chip pancakes. We absolutely loved the B&B dog, Rita. She is such a friendly and loveable animal.

My husband and I stayed in the Out of Africa Cottage. The room was clean and very spacious, including a bedroom, jacuzzi room, a full bath with shower and a half bath. The jacuzzi was very nice to relax in each night, there was enough room for both my husband and myself and we are not small people. Though the room is a little out dated, that didn't bother us at all. My husband did mention that it smelled like his grandmother's house. I only have 2 complaints. First is that on their website they say that our cottage included a DVD player, which it did not, and second, the shower curtain in the bathroom is too short, we had to finagle it a bit to make sure we didn't soak the floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meoughkat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    50
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
112
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kathleen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

the garden walk bb was quite a disappointment to us. While the cottage we stayed in was relatively clean the bathroom was very small with an extremely small shower. and an abundance of mold. Breakfast was advertised to be at 8:30 on a sign at the office and by one of the employees. When we planned our morning around that and arrived for breakfast at the correct time we were told "no I think everyone is coming at 9:00" This would have been ok with us if it old have just been accompanied with just a tiny bit of "I'm sorry for the inconvenience" or something. This is really the only bb my wife and I have been where we have left anything but a positive review.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We wanted a relaxing get away for Memorial Day and were pleasantly surprized. Absolutely LOVED this quaint, cozy, romantic, relaxing, and comfortable B&B. We stayed in the Summer's Night room which includes a mini frige and microwave. We found it well maintained and clean. The location was quiet yet a short drive to all the scenic places in Chattanooga. We absolutely loved the fact that it was 11 degrees cooler on top the mountain than it was in downtown Chatanooga. Ed (owner) also made 2 great recommendations for dinner (212 Market and Corner Cafe). Breakfast?? DON'T miss it!!! The peach french toast was wonderful. We will be back!!

Room Tip: I preferred a room with mini fridge and microwave for snacking and leftovers from last night's d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Enjoyed a recent stay here. Great location and the cottages and rooms are very quaint. We rented the Bungalow, because I wanted to be able to cook a meal, and it was well-suited to our needs. The place has a pool that sadly needed some attention (I started to offer to backwash it!) but otherwise everything was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSNC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We found this very nice place hidden on Lookout Mountain just by chance passing by and did not regret stopping there. In fact, we even stayed an additional night because we liked it so much. Breakfast is great and home-cooked and the innkeepers even let us use their private laptop when we wanted to access the internet. The rooms are perfectly decorated. Great place to stay, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSV, AL
Level Contributor
142 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

this was the neatest place we stayed at for the first time. were going to book at the sky harbor bavarian inn but they were full and recommended here. took my mother and stayed in the lavender green room (like being in a little girls tea room). have pics if i can add. decorated so pretty and charming. was told the property has been there since '51 and the current owners, Ed and Erma, have had it since '01. now this place is on top of lookout mountain about 1/2 mi from Rock City and its like being submersed into a fairytale almost. cottages are lined down the pathways from the main house. breakfast is served at the office inside or outside and they bring your plate to you. makes you feel quite special. on a Sunday, we were served choc chip pancakes with a side of new orleans style dirty rice with sausage and potatoes (an odd choice of a side but it was surprising absolutely delicious), little wedges of grapefruit or orange with choice of drink (i had colombian coffee which is excellent) plus a small glass of orange juice. now you have to realize this is not top scale fancy, its just quaint and different but very relaxing and nice. its all about what you're looking for and what to expect sometimes. since i had saw a review about spiders, i kept my eye out. there is a lot of wood (the cottage is made of wood, the chairs, the picketfence style bed, the furniture, and this place is surrounded by woods, plants, trees, flowers and since its got a little age), of course its bound to have a bug. so i just checked out the place, sprayed with lysol ( forgot the bug spray), found two long legged looking spiders, killed it and went on about our stay. the beauty and ambience of the place trumped that little bit of nuisance. they have such a calm, friendly dog on the property, Rita. she was a good girl, likes to hang around you a bit when you go up to the office. the rooms are laid out like this (if you dont get a suite), it's two rooms to a cottage so there is one door to the cottage, a small foyer which has a table with coffeemaker, glasses and small frig. no microwave and then a door with lock to a room of your own on either side. you can reserve just one room or both to have the whole cottage. we had our own bathroom, tv, plenty of sitting area and lots of little tables or places to put your things like an armoire and dresser which we didnt use and an open closet to hang clothes.as far as the price, it's more convenient because we split the bill so we fill we're getting more of a value. it was priced about the same or less than hotels in the area. they do have an outdoor pool and hot tub and grill on the grounds, there is lots of floral scenery and statues and benches, so it kinda felt like goldilocks roaming in her own little world without the bears.....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicoletteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in April, 2012 and had a very nice time. We stayed in the "Room With A View" which was set far back from the road so there was no traffic noise at all. The room was nicely decorated and had plenty of space. We only ate breakfast there one of the mornings because we wanted to sleep in and breakfast is typically served at 9:00 a.m which was a little too early for us while we were getting away. We did not have any issues with this at all, so please don't interpret it as a complaint!

The grounds are very nicely decorated, and our hostess, Irma was very pleasant to talk with when we arrived. They have a very nice dog, Rita, who patrols the grounds and is very friendly.

The B&B is set up as side-by-side cottages, but we did not have any issues with noise from the other side. It was occupied two of the three nights we were there.

Be aware that in order to get to the B&B though, you will need to drive up Lookout Mountain, which while it provides breath taking scenery, is a VERY windy, uphill climb that can take some getting used to. However, the ride is definitely worth it. We would stay here again if we came back to the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lookout Mountain
5.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
5.1 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
5.0 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 1206 Lula Lake Road, Lookout Mountain, GA 30750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Lookout Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lookout Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Garden Walk Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden Walk b&b Inn
The Garden Walk Hotel Lookout Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing