We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Gladys Knight & Ron Winan's Chicken & Waffles
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lithonia, Georgia
2 reviews
“Poor”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Way over priced for the quality and what you get---and server was rude will never come here again fast food better that this and I don't care for fast food. but at least you get something for your money

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaklee1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    29
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We cleaned our plates!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My co-workers were ranting about this restaurant in Lithonia. My husband and I were spending some time in Atlanta so we decided to see what the excitement was all about! Well, this restaurant did not disappoint! My husband had smothered chicken and when he was finished, you couldn't even tell what he had ordered. I tried the chicken and waffle plate because I had never experienced that combination before. I was not disappointed. From the moment we walked into the door until we left, everyone was professional and friendly. The food was excellent--delivered at the right temperature. The collard green spring rolls were excellent. Another must try. We will definitely return to this restaurant the next time we are in the Atlanta area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Chicken & Waffles”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was my first time experiencing the whole chicken and waffles (aka Midnight), and I was definitely pleased! My family and I were seated within minutes, but it took our waitress awhile to come and serve us drinks. We ended up with a new waitress who did a great job. Outside of that, the music and food were on point! Also, try the catfish basket!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's not Rosco's or Chicago Chicken and Waffles but it will do!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

During our trip to ATL, we wanted to find out what restaurants we must try out so we came across this one. We were picking up my nephew who lives in Lithonia so we decided to go to this location. We put the address in our GPS and it took us to the This is It chicken chair down the street. If this happens to you, just drive towards the mall on the same side of the street.

As someone who has eaten at Rosco's in LA and at Chicago's Chicken and Waffles, this was just okay and maybe the same level as Chicago's Chicken and Waffles (food only). Here is why...

Pros
- They have a veggie option. Choice of 4 veggies with corn bread for $10. This is rare!
- Veggies were cooked in turkey rather than pork.

Cons

- The wait. We sat there for about 10minutes before anyone helped us.
- It was more expensive than either Chicken in waffles in Chicago or LA. We must have been paying for the name.
- my nephew order the 10 wings basket. On the menu you can choose between fried, buffalo, and another flavor. He asked to have 5 fried and 5 buffalo. The waitress told him "No, there are not substitutions and request can not be made".

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vpagew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just like a home cooked meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Good was good, nothing special to write home about. Service was good. Nice music. Fried corn was awesome!! I would definitely return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATLTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gladys Knight & Ron Winan's Chicken & Waffles also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing