We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping with a water view”

Elijah Clark State Park
Attraction details
Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Camping with a water view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Enjoyed two nights at Elijah Clark State Park. Nice campsites, great view of the water and sunrise/sunset. Clean restrooms (though could use updating), nice visitor center. Many pull through sites and nice space between sites to give some privacy. Cable TV even.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“BIG”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Elijah Clark State Park suffers from the same ailmene all our area parks are suffering............cutbacks and lack of improvements. Elijah Clark has more to offer than other parks in the area but unless things get better soon I am afraid attendance will suffer greatly

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, In
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elijah Clark State Park, 2012 ThanksGiving”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at Elijah Clark State Park over Thanks Giving 2012, stayed in cabin 1, standard GA state park cabin, two bedrooms, one bath. Nice kitchen, and dining area.. has everything so no need to bring anything.. except food to cook.. outside grill too.. lake view is limited since the lake level is really low.. has only two trails to walk, which is limited.. but overall not bad.. well suited for boats.. if you have boat it is a very good park to visit.. lots of RV camping.. drove around it.. very nice facilities.. right on the lake.. not much wildlife, such as deer or other animals, at least I didn't see any..saw some turtles on the lake bank.. cabin has flat screen tv with 15 channels not bad, to watch at night.. has fire place. we didn't have fire.. easiest way to get there is on I-20 from Atlanta..not sure if we would go back to this place to go somewhere else.. no place to eat close by.. which is limiting.. we like to eat at local places.. didn't seem very bike friendly since there were no bike lanes or bike paths.. not much to do once you are there but to watch the grass grow..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank timmy-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, Georgia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Popular State Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Elija Clark is a nice Georgia State Park on Lake J.. Strom Thurmond. most of the sites are on the water or have views of the water. If this park had full hookups Water/Sewer/Electric I would go here much more often.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank griff83147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“OK Campground”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here only one night as we are on our way to Savannah.

This is a very large park & not too many people were here this time of the year. They say it's extremely busy in the summer. The lake is beautiful but is very low right now. There are many pontoon boats on the lake & we saw fellas fishing. Didn't check anything else out as we came in late & left fairly early this morning.

This is a LARGE campground & all the outside sites are by the water. Than there is the middle section for sites that has a view of the water. With just the few campers this time of the year the restrooms were busy. I can't imagine what it would be like when more campers are there. FAR TOO CROWDED is my thought.

We stayed in campground 1 & that restroom needed HELP! The ladies shower area needed a GOOD SCRUBBING & needed to be scrubbed down with Clorox. Even the tile walls were full of soap sum. The floor and the corners in the toilet section needed a good cleaning as well. The water was hot & they did have heat which was GREAT! It was 48 this morning.

We've stayed at several other GA State Parks & this one was our least favorite. ECSP needs more restroom facilities and needs to update the existing facilities. There is NO division or foliage between sites. Therefore, you aren't private. But, the camp grounds are clean.

We would probably not stay here again unless I read the future reviews and the facilities have changed.

Helpful?
4 Thank nclark62044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elijah Clark State Park also viewed

 

Been to Elijah Clark State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing