We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Old Parsonage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Parsonage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband was working by . I came to stay with him for two days , Charlotte meet me and made us a cup of tea , we sat outside , then went to room it's lovely very clean , shower room clean to. We had a four poster Bed , and a sofa to sit and watch tv , breakfast was great everything you could want , fruit , fresh made bread ,full English , and more , all I can say they make you very welcome and a lovely place thank you Charlotte and hubby for our stay !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 184 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are looking for a historic English country house, this is the place for you. Charlotte, the owner, is more than happy to relate the history of the property. Don't forget to ask her to show you the photo of King George VI when he was the owner. She will also give you tips about where to dine, and what to see in Wells, which you must not miss. The house has been entirely restored to a high standard. The rooms, including bathrooms, are very spacious. You will love your stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel_LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I only stayed for 1 night whilst on business in Bristol. I arrived at approx. 19:00 and the owner very kindly produced a lovely supper for me at a very reasonable cost. My room was large, well decorated and clean. The communal areas are very tasteful and I spent the evening in the lounge using the wifi. There is wifi in the rooms but very flakey it is very realiable in the lounge. My host were very nice, breakfast in the morning was lovely and it made a great change from corporate hotels. Again the house is beautiful with outside areas if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solofemaletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a pity we were only booked in for one night as we could easily have stayed longer if circumstances allowed! The Old Parsonage is a beautiful period home, full of character and quite charming in every way. My husband and I booked in for one night following a small operation on my knee in Bristol. We arrived mid evening (later than expected) but it was just what the doctor ordered sinking into a four poster bed in a most comfortable and spacious bedroom. (Not to mention the large bathroom which was ideal for a patient on crutches!) Waking up in the morning we were able to take in more of our elegant surroundings on our way down to breakfast. Fabulous original features abound in this seventeenth century house. We tucked into a hearty full English breakfast with delicious breads and numerous cups of tea as we enjoyed chatting about the house with Charlotte the owner. We would definitely recommend The Old Parsonage as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red room which is a lovely spacious room with a large bathroom. We loved it. We di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2323charlotte, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

So glad it was' just what the doctor ordered'. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay and hope you make a speedy recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked for one night on way to see Bath and NT properties. Wonderful house and hosts. Beautiful bedroom and sitting room for guests. Breakfast perfect. The self catering accommodation looked very good too. Highly recommended. Go and stay where the last two kings of England stayed.......yes they really did!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2323charlotte, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here, that is what it is all about for us. Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

After a very stressful week, all we wanted was some food and somewhere to sleep, as we pulled into the car park at 8.30pm the gate opened and we were greeted with a smile and welcome, we discussed where to eat, they kindly telephoned the local pub to say we were coming over but might be a bit late, our hosts even offered to make us a cup of tea or coffee rather than make one ourselves in our room, breakfast was at the time we choose this was delicious, home made bread, overall really nice, we would recommend this B & B for its friendliness and comfort with character, we stayed in the green room, bed very comfortable, no noise from the main road, would stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at The Old Parsonage to wind down before returning to New Zealand after a very busy 6 week holiday in UK and Europe. We loved the house with its olde world charm and interesting history. Our hosts were very welcoming and our stay in The Green room was a wonderful experience with its four poster bed. We found the location very central to Bristol, Bath and Wells. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and offers lots of old English pubs within easy reach of the B&B to dine in as we explored. Would stay there again readily and recommend it to others wholeheartedly. Such a relaxing end to a wonderful holiday.

Two happy kiwis

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rosemary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2323charlotte, Owner at The Old Parsonage, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to have you to stay for 3 nights, we enjoy getting to know guests who stay longer than just one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Parsonage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Parsonage

Address: The Old Parsonage Main Street, Farrington Gurney BS39 6UB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Farrington Gurney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Farrington Gurney
Price Range: $87 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Parsonage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Old Parsonage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing