We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven On Earth”
Review of Thonga Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thonga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven On Earth”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Thonga Beach Lodge was the standout of a 15 night KwaZulu Natal itinerary for my wife and I, celebrating our 5th anniversary, and our 14 month old daughter. Everything about TBL was absolutely perect!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rocco626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Rocco626

Thanks very much for your review. I am delighted to read you had such a great experience at Thonga Beach Lodge.

Congratulations on your anniversary and birth of your daughter. We are honoured that you chose Thonga as one of the destinations to celebrate these special occasions.

Kind Regards

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    55
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
92
222
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went for a walk for miles on the beautiful unspoilt beaches, while thousands of crabs ran around on the beach. We went out paddling with one of the staff the next day. I also went for a massage in the spa which was fantastic. They set out a romantic meal for us in a private dining area upstairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampsBayApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi CampsBayApartments

Thanks for your review. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thonga Beach Lodge - it really is the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

Kind Regards

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful short stay at Thonga Beach Lodge in May. Many (South African) visitors come during the summer months of December, January, and February, but norther KwaZulu-Natal can be very hot that time of year. For me, the main reason to visit then would be to see the turtles laying their eggs (November-December) or the hatchlings emerge and go to the ocean (January-February). The shoulder months of April and May are delightful, with warm days and cool evenings.

As other shave noted, the transfer from the road takes about an hour. Thonga is located in a remote area in a World Heritage park, so it is definitely a place for those who want to get away from it all. With 280 km of protected coastline, the park is a jewel, and it is a privilege to get to enjoy its pristine beaches with few others. The Lodge is lovely, tastefully integrated into the surrounding hillside and hardly visible from the beach. Thonga is a joint initiative between Isibindi and the local community, and it is great to see the community so clearly benefitting from the Lodge.

The scuba diving was wonderful, with crystal clear waters. The snorkeling was equally nice. We highly recommend the sundowner visit to Lake Sibaya. There is nothing quite like an African sunset!

Given the remote location, the lodging is quite luxurious, but is not "over the top" luxurious like some safari operators. In all, a very nice balance between comfort and nature!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Eritay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Eritay, Thank you for taking the time to review Thonga Beach Lodge. We are so thrilled that you found it to be such a wonderful destination. We are privileged to be able to work with the community and welcome visitors to this World Heritage are.
Kind Regards
Penny Rice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

It was the best holiday and experience of my life! My highlight would surely be snorkeling with dolphins as this has always been something on my bucketlist. The staff is very kind and makes you feel at home. I want to go back! :)


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Guest Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Justine L
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Thonga Beach Lodge.
We are so thrilled that you have such a lovely holiday there.
Swimming with Dolphins is truly a magical experience.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Penny Ricde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a fantastic Lodge, only managed to spend a couple of nights there but look forward to getting back there one day. Can't recommend it enough, we all loved the place/food/staff and overall experience

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BandC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear BandC2004

Thanks very much for your review and for recommending us. We look forward to hosting you again soon, hopefully for a bit longer next time!

Kind Regards

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Be aware the transfer from carpark to hotel is 1 hour with a 4x4 wehicle and you are way out on the countryside! Thonga is a lovely and very special place. Local people who work at the hotel and always share their smile with you. Hence the atmosphere is unforgettably nice. Hovever the pictures in the ads are a bit overdone and reality is not luxury, rather genuin. Activities well taken care of and the best; the food! One of the best so far in the area. Hope the chef stays - If so it is Worth comming back again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cala084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Cala084

I am very pleased to hear that your experience at Thonga was unforgettable and that you enjoyed the warm hospitality that our staff are well known for.

The good news is that our chef, Carl, is staying. In fact, because he has had such a great influence on the food at Thonga we have promoted him to be Group Chef of Isibindi Africa Lodges. So he will be overseeing the kitchens in all of our lodges, something we are very excited about.

Thanks very much

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

OK, it is a almost 60 minutes drive from the main road all the way to the Lodge (4x4 required), but it is 100% worth it... even the 60 minutes drive through woods, across hills was fun. Once you are there, you know paradise is veeeery close. Beaches, you normally know from books...
Friendly staff (you can also learn Zulu:) ), and the service is TOP!
Rooms are spacious, clean and with a tasteful interior design. Also the SPA is highly recommended..
We are not Scuba Divers, but courses are available....snorkelling is a MUST!
First time there - and we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We had a forest room, which is (from our point of view) ebough. Seaview is not necessary Sundowner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miracolimuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Thonga Beach Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear miracolimuc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Thonga Beach Lodge.
We are so thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Penny Rice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near iSimangaliso Wetland Park
14.8 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 15 in Sodwana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.0 mi away
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Makakatana Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
16.5 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 15 in Sodwana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kosi Bay Lodge
Kosi Bay Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kosi Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thonga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thonga Beach Lodge

Property: Thonga Beach Lodge
Address: In Isimangaliso World Heritage Wetland Park | Mabibi, iSimangaliso Wetland Park 4399, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thonga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, luxury lodge is nestled on the pristine coast of Northern KwaZulu-Natal, within the Isimangaliso World Heritage Park. Its clear, warm waters offer superb snorkeling and unspoiled off-shore scuba diving, arguably the best in South Africa. Air conditioned suites, mouth-watering cuisine, romantic candlelight dinners on the beach and relaxing Sea Spa treatments. Guided forest walks, kayaking, sundowners and seasonal turtle tracking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Thonga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thonga Beach Hotel Mabibi
Thonga Beach Lodge KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing