We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pristine and perfect setting to unwind during our honeymoon”
Review of Thonga Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thonga Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pristine and perfect setting to unwind during our honeymoon”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Thonga Beach Lodge, where my wife and I ended our South African honeymoon, was a dream. If you want to get away from it all, to pristine beaches and unspoiled nature, this is the place. If you’re more interested in pristine linens and being spoiled by Michelin star meals, you might want to think again. It is luxurious, but in more of a rustic or “beach bum” sense. The staff couldn’t have been more friendly or accommodating, and we were impressed by the extra effort they gave to make our honeymoon special (e.g., a welcoming champagne bottle with flowers, beach-side dinner under the stars reached via a candle-lit pathway, another special dinner table just for us, etc.). We liked that the food had something of a healthy aspect, and considering how isolated the spot is, it’s especially impressive how tasty and varied the meals are. We had rough seas during our stay, but I still managed one dive, when I was impressed with the amount of undersea life in the area. Sunset on Lake Sibaya is also not to be missed and I’m not sure I’ll ever see as many stars at night as I did on the Mabibi beach. We liked the activities that were offered and enjoyed all the ones we participated in, but Thonga’s real draw is as a place to unwind, relax, and do nothing but enjoy the pristine setting.

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chooch300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    55
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
92
224
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

In a word "breathtaking"
When we arrived at thonga beach lodge we looked around with our jaws on the floor this place is a piece of paradise the staff were so friendly , accommodating and willing to assist with anything. The location is perfect no light pollution so you can see millions of stars at night even the milky way!!
Serenity at its best, the food perfect so much choice and perfectly cooked and displayed!
Activities were great and lots to do we felt so looked after as well,the pristine beach is yours to wander along for mikes and miles which we did, discovering rock pools and feeling so peacefull , every part of this lodge is fantastic and the fat it helps the local community too is brilliant! We loved the Forrest walk and community tour, as it shows the knowledge of the guides/ employees and gives you an incite to the community.
All in all perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a magical resort set on a forest overlooking the Indian Ocean - it is a real great place to leave your worries behind and get away from it all (no mobile phone reception). The staff is great - very professional and accommodating. You can either do nothing and just marvel at the view - or join in the many activities organized by the lodge - everything from Snorkeling, Diving, Forest walks or sundowners by the Lake. The food is very good - and even though you are with other travellers at times you feel like it is your very own resort. The rooms have amazing views of the beaches - comfortable beds and stylish decor - you will never want to leave.

Room Tip: Get a room high above - with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Absolutely perfect. (Unless you are looking for party)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousruhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The best thing about Thonga Beach is that nobody can contact you there. There is no internet or cell phone connection and the only way to get there is by 4x4.
Once there it is simply a matter of deciding whether to sit back and drink cocktails or take part in the many activities on offer.
We went on a guided snorkel before breakfast one morning and were rewarded with seeing lots of colourful fish and two well disguised eels - pointed out by our guide.
We also went on a sundowner trip to lake Sibaya and watched the hippos while sipping beers on the shore.
It was full moon while we were there so we enjoyed long walks on the empty, moon lit beach at night. Good for the soul .
The absolute best was swimming in the warm, clear, turquoise sea.
The food was good and the service excellent.
The spacious rooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PetalCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Thonga Beach Lodge was the capstone of our three week vacation in South Africa. It is a piece of luxury as far from civilization as you could ever want: nothing around for miles and miles. It's a place to really relax and get away from it all. The lodge organizes daily activities which you sign up for on the whiteboard up to one day in advance: snorkeling, the "ocean experience" (which takes you out in a boat to look for dolphins and whales in season (not in May), turtle viewing in season (not in May unfortunately), kayaking on Lake Sibaya, guided walks through the coastal forest, and the "Sundowner": taking cocktails out to Lake Sibaya to view the sunset. This last was very beautiful. My partner and I took long daily walks on the beach, including one particularly magical walk under the full moon. Every meal was uniformly excellent, and the management makes sure the service is topnotch. If you want to be super active, then this place is probably not for you. We found three days to be just right: much longer, and we would have gotten bored. This lodge is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for, and it was worth the cost.

By the way, we loved all the butterflies! They were as colorful on land as the fish were underwater!

Room Tip: Don't expect a full sea view from any of the rooms. The lodge complex was built to be eco-friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianbesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were a group of 8 - 4 adults and 4 young children (age 3 - 8). All the staff were lovely - the children were as welcome as we were and even on one (rare) rainy morning, they brought out activities that the staff did with us. The beach is to die for - yes the snorkelling can be challenging but who doesnt love a challenge? The boat trip one morning was awesome - Clive and Donna were the best skippers and dive mates one could ask for. We found pods of dolphins who were more than happy to come and play as well as 3 types of adult turtles. One morning we even found one of the last turtle nests that had hatched that night with one still hatching!! Too cute. Andy and his management team are hard working, dedicated and only too happy accomodate your requests. The beds are HUGE, the food fab - I cant praise Thonga enough. Well done guys - keep up the good work. x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HerAq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near iSimangaliso Wetland Park
14.8 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
178 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
135 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
#1 of 3 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.0 mi away
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Makakatana Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
162 reviews
16.2 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 15 in Sodwana
146 reviews
16.5 mi away
Coral Divers
Coral Divers
#1 of 15 in Sodwana
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thonga Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thonga Beach Lodge

Property: Thonga Beach Lodge
Address: In Isimangaliso World Heritage Wetland Park | Mabibi, iSimangaliso Wetland Park 4399, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thonga Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, luxury lodge is nestled on the pristine coast of Northern KwaZulu-Natal, within the Isimangaliso World Heritage Park. Its clear, warm waters offer superb snorkeling and unspoiled off-shore scuba diving, arguably the best in South Africa. Air conditioned suites, mouth-watering cuisine, romantic candlelight dinners on the beach and relaxing Sea Spa treatments. Guided forest walks, kayaking, sundowners and seasonal turtle tracking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Thonga Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thonga Beach Hotel Mabibi
Thonga Beach Lodge KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing