We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makakatana Bay Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spent two nights of our honeymoon at Makakatana. Unfortunately the honeymoon suite was being remodeled, but our room was still terrific. Little odd to ONLY have an outdoor shower (and inside tub), especially as it was winter and a bit chilly...but after the initial shock wore off it was an outstanding experience, shared with a few spiders and some glancing monkey eyes!

The food was simple but well done with a few nice options each meal. I highly recommend the lake cruise as we saw tons of hippos, crocs, birds and other wildlife. The land safari was a little lacking as there weren't tons of animals in this national park and we had just come from Phinda which was amazing.

Excellent staff, incredible artwork done by the owner and a very relaxing two days!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPM805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

The lodge was kind enough to arrange a special day tour, focussing on birding. 95 species seen in one day! This has to rank as the ultimate birding paradise. The food was also excellent, and I will be poaching the chef when I win the lotto. It was quite magical, with an elephant eating the garden plants, and bush babies crying in the trees around the camp.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Sabine and I had our first encounter with a private game lodge at Makakatana, which is located in the heart of iSimangaliso Wetland Park.
It's actually the only lodge within te park.
The first impression of the lodge was a cosy one with excellent personal service and attention.
The rooms are spacious with a great view and off course a outdoor shower.
The game drives thx to Julian are great as well. His knowledge of the wildlife made the difference.
The food was good and something you could expact for a lodge like this one but the locations for having the dinner where stunning
Please dont't get any bigger....this is perfect......just as it is right now.
Keep on the good work.....we will be back.....
Greets Sabine and Martijn from the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Pick the honeymoon room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martijnvanBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

we stayed there in November 2013 and we would always return.we felt so familar, everything was easy and perfect, very good guides and relaxing atmosphere. perfect location with wondeful sight on the lake,fantastic kitchen , meals around fire in the Boma,candellight dinner, perfect barbecue beside the beach.Exspecially Kyle was an excellent guide who shared the passion of photography with my husband.we had interesting activities with a lot of animals-thanks to the whole team !!
Ute &Torsten from germany

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florafaunatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Arriving to Makakatana Bay Lodge we experienced a very warm and friendly welcome. As we had the chance to stay over Christmas time we were very pleased to spend an exciting and charming Xmas-Eve with the staff and ranger. Thank's to all of you :-)
The safari-trips with Kyle and his family were just fantastic. Also the boattrip was a big surprise with all the hypos, birds and even crocs we had the chance to spot. The drive into the St. Lucia game park covering the visit to the private beach at the Indian Ocean were just stunning moments to pass for us.
We loved food and drinks within the lodge and on our trips, it was a great experience and surprise to watch what can be carried as catering- and camping- facilites within a ranger's car !

Thank's a lot again to you all, et merci beaucoup à l'adresse de Nicole et Damian

Stay good tempered even though there are disappointing comments now and then. We experienced a very happy time at your extraordinary lodge.

Marianne and Ernst, Switzerland

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahlie_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Makakatana is a very special jewel lying in wait for all those lucky enough to stay there. The activities offered, food, staff, location, boma dinners-entire experience really were all of the highest quality, thanks to the whole team for a brilliant stay.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-Ann M, Owner at Makakatana Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you James for your feedback and we do hope to see you here again soon.
Kind regards,
Leigh-Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this peaceful privately owned lodge. Upon our arrival we were greeted and warmly welcomed by the lodge's management and staff members. Although it rained very heavily during our visit, our bush guide, Kyle, came up with excellent alternatives. We had plenty of opportunity to view wildlife right at the lodge and on the guided trips.The wetland location is a spectacular area to spot a variety of birds.

The food, ambience and friendly service were all commendable. Especially noteworthy: the view from our cabin and the personal oversight of the property's owner.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfoodforhealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near iSimangaliso Wetland Park
19.3 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
137 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
66.0 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hluhluwe River Lodge
Hluhluwe River Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
159 reviews
23.4 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#1 of 32 in Hluhluwe
321 reviews
9.6 mi away
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
Monzi Safaris Tented Camp
#2 of 32 in St Lucia
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makakatana Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makakatana Bay Lodge

Address: Lot 3 Makakatana | Western Shores Lake St Lucia, iSimangaliso Wetland Park 3935, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Price Range: $486 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makakatana Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makakatana Bay Lodge is the only privately owned lodge set on the banks of Lake St Lucia, KwaZulu Natal, SA within the Isimangaliso Wetland Park world heritage site. It is 3 hours drive North of Durban & easy driving.The Lodge has 6 rooms with only 12 guests, offering guests privacy & intimacy during their stay at Makakatana. The full day boat safari is the benchmark activity offered at the lodge where guests are take on a private boat to experience the Estuary seeking out hippo, crocodile & incredible birdlife. After the boat trip guests enjoy a picnic lunch & game drive enroute home.The other activity that is a must is the Beach safari & exploration of the Eastern shores reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Makakatana Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makakatana Bay Lodge KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing