We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day to remember”

Heritage Tours & Safaris
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$178.35*
and up
Hluhluwe Game Reserve Safari
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A day to remember”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is the oldest park in South Africa and spoilt us with an amazing day viewing wildlife at its best - free and roaming around. We were treated to seeing plenty of rhino's, giraffe, warthogs, crocodiles, zebra, buck, buffalo and elephants.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rafiki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    103
    39
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
351 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Great reserve”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We spent the day driving through this wonderful reserve and were very lucky with our wildlife spots too. Fuelled by a great packed breakfast from our lodgings in Ulundi we were up very early and ready to wildlife spot. We were not disappointed. Within minutes of entering the reserve we spotted some lions. Sadly, they would good at just disappearing into the bush but it motivated to keep our eyes peeled further. We saw lots of white rhino throughout the day, but no black. We saw some groups of elephants and a number of giraffes, as well as lots of beautiful deer, antelope and zebra. We stopped at a small hide by a watering hole which was an amazing place to watch the warthog and rhino come down for a drink. A local man helped us out with some good wildlife knowledge tips too and it was lovely to hear him speak with pride of the area he lived in. We also managed to get some great bird sightings through our binoculars.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Reserve, good game viewing and GREAT Wilderness Trail”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I've been to Lhulhuwe-Imfolozi Reserve in 2004 where we did the 4-day Wilderness Trail.

This is a live changing experience. We hiked some 14 Km a day in the bush and had encounters with Buffalo, lots of Rhinos, Zebra, several antelopes, Hippos, etc. The guides were very good and knowledgeable, we where never in danger but saw a Rhino fight and a Wild Dog kill and the final take over by the Hienas. Mavela was the nick name of one of them.

The camp has large tends with comfortable bed/mattresses. You will sleep like a baby after the 14 Km hike during the day. The food is plain but very substantial. We had a Impala casserole one day.

There is no electricity so no cold beer after the hike ...

You pickup a bucket and fill it with 10 litters of water of your preferred temperate by mixing warm and cold water. You take it to the "shower" place, purr its contains in another bucket pull the string attached to the bucket so that it is rises above your head, turn on the lever and that is your shower.
At the wild on a clearing surrounded by the bush.

Bathroom is in a specific area where you take a shovel and burn any pice of paper before burring your products ...

During the night you hear all sorts of wild sounds and try to believe in the guides that nothing bad will happen ... As you are so exhausted you do sleep quickly.

From what I read recently, it looks like now there is electricity, great for the beer, but looses some of the romantic of being primitive.

You have to book this trails 6-12 months in advance, but it is worse it.

Lhulhuwe-Imfolozi is know for the quality of its trails and I recommend strongly.

For the even more adventures, they have a Primitive Trail where you take a sleeping bag and sleep under the skies.

I am returning to SA next September for another 25 days of Safari.

Understanding nature we get a better understanding of our selves.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Rogerio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Game Reserve is one of the most beautiful I have seen in South Africa. We saw plenty of antelope, rhino and elephant. Unfortunately no lion. Also we had a nice luncheon at Hilltop Camp.
I will definitely go back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hervecoenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saw everything except the cats”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked a private safari through a local tour company. The safari driver was very skilled and could spot a giraffe, zebra, or rhino from a mile away. We took a 4 hour tour and saw everything except tigers and leopards. Well worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Tours & Safaris also viewed

 
Hluhluwe Game Reserve, KwaZulu-Natal
Mtubatuba, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Heritage Tours & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing