We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Band B and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Gables Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I and another couple stayed 1 night here after a day of walking the Ridgeway. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were 2 of the nicest decorated of all the places we stayed on the Ridgeway. They were immaculate and modern looking. One of the nicest touches was having a fridge in the hallway with soft drinks, beer and wine for sale. We each had a beer and sat out front on the patio while we were served some pieces of cake on the house. The host drove us into Wallingford to the Old post Office pub for dinner which was kind of him. This place would make a good base for exploring the area and we wished we could have stayed longer. We would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here this summer. The main reason for choosing this B & B was to be close to the area in which I was researching my family tree. Carole gave us a very warm welcome and showed us to our room which was extremely comfortable with several nice extra touches. The breakfasts were really good. Plenty of choice and friendly service by Martin. A good place, too, to meet fellow guests. In our case from Germany and Denmark. As the weather was good during our visit we walked into Wallingford for a meal. You would need a car in poor weather or if you were unable to walk far.
Overall a very well run B & B

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived wet, cold and tired. We were met by a really friendly couple, our wet shoes and socks were taken away to dry and we were brought a cup of tea and a home-made short bread. The room was lovely, raelly nicely decked out, and even had some games in the drawer. Hot shower. REALLY comfy big bed. The breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice. There is nothing I didn't love about this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The building isn't particularly pretty, the location is convenient although not very scenic BUT oh how joyous it is when a business applies great thought to what they do, fantastic. Everywhere you look around around the premises are the manifestation of lots of thinking, all the things you need where you need them in the most convenient fashion. Fabulous breakfast, friendly service. We enjoyed every moment.

If I was going to run a B&B this is the level of service I would aspire to: turning an 'ordinary' overnight stay into a really great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a great small B&B (4 rooms) that is very stylishly decorated and definitely a touch above your standard B&B for similar money. The room was very clean, beds very comfortable, and the colour co-ordination is a nice touch. The shortbread on a arrival and fresh milk in the fridge is a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent. Where it really scored highly was the friendliness of the hosts who went out of their way to do everything they could to help and to make it a good stay. Excellent stuff and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 days at Little Gables last week. The tea/coffee and cake when we arrived made us feel very much at home. It was also good to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room with lovely home made biscuits. Martin & Carol were very helpful about our walking plan and it proved a super location for walking along the Thames. We had lovely meals out in Wallingford at The Old Post Office and Avanti's Italian restuarant. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as the cleanliness comfort and attention to detail was really fantastic. Thank you Martin & Carol.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tea and cake on arrival, everything you could ever need in your room , lovely comfortable bed and very attentive service. The only possible negatives I can think of are that you need to choose your hot breakfast option the night before (not too much of a big deal), and the shower and saniflow toilet in my room were really noisy (I was on my own so not a problem) but every thing else is perfect! Much nicer than corporate hotels, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginger1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowmarsh Gifford
1.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
252 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
672 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Benson
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Partridge Inn Wine Bar & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Court Farm Barns
Court Farm Barns
#2 of 2 in Warborough
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Coachmakers Arms
The Coachmakers Arms
#4 of 13 in Wallingford
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gables Bed and Breakfast

Address: 166 Crowmarsh Hill, Crowmarsh Gifford, Wallingford OX10 8BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Crowmarsh Gifford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crowmarsh Gifford
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gables Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B in the Oxfordshire countryside. A great base for Oxford, London, Windsor, Stratford, Bath and many more. Fully equipped rooms, all recently refurbished. Free Internet and welcome drink. Great for cycling and walking along national paths and routes. Dogs (with well behaved owners) welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Little Gables Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing