We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nacho Momma's Kitchen”
Review of Johnny Carino's Italian Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnny Carino's Italian Kitchen
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Description: From our signature Handmade Lasagna to our famous Spicy Shrimp and Chicken, Carino's offers Italian
Restaurant details
Description: From our signature Handmade Lasagna to our famous Spicy Shrimp and Chicken, Carino's offers Italian
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nacho Momma's Kitchen”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Front door & wait staff very happy & helpful. The manger also checked our table to make sure everything was alright. The food was average, but more towards the good. The table could have been cleaner, it was sticky & greasy. I would try the place again, but as first impressions go, they have some work ahead.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Maybe I just ordered the wrong thing, but I was disappointed with the balsamic chicken. The bread was good, however.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not going there again.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Restaurant was dirty, trash and gritty stuff on the floor. Tables not clean. The food quality was poor. Not anything about it made me want to return.

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Exceptional Staff”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Managers were great in providing me assistance in planning a Surprise 50th Birthday where family and friends didn't all know each other, and were arriving at multiple times. Everyone commented on how great the waitress was, and the staff bringing the food, quickly. Some people had early departures and still wanted to see the cake cutting. Everything went as planned, the food was fantastic, no one had been to Carino's before and all commented on how they liked their meals. Only one person wished the Lasagna portion had been a little larger, but that was supplemented by the Cakes, which had been allowed to be brought in, Some restaurants make you pick from their desserts. This was a once in a lifetime event for this person and the memory will be one that he cherishes. THANKS TO EVERYONE FOR THEIR ASSISTANCE IN HELPING ME TO MAKE THIS EVENT A SUCCESSFUL ONE.
.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FYCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

What all could go wrong before it becomes an SNL skit? Setting: a quiet restaurant which is not busy on an early Saturday evening. No groups are waiting outside the door or inside. Our party of 8, with no small children enters and is seated immediately. A small basket of bread, enough for four, is left on the table and we request a second. The server upon returning spills olive oil across one end of the table. She disappears, and all drinks run dry. Salads come for six of the group, but two do not arrive. The two without salads cannot ask for them because the server doesn't return, and a member of the group must finally leave the table to search nearby server stands for a pitcher of anything to fill the still empty glasses. Entrees arrives for some, are mixed up, and given to the wrong people. Three of the dishes have no sauce on them, just bare pasta. Those are sent back, yet one of the three returns with still no sauce ten minutes later. Sauce is requested a second time. Meanwhile, two people still have not begun to eat--waiting for sauce. The drinks are finally filled by the server at the times she brings the check for just the amount of the cost of the drinks per the manager's good graces. We witness two bus staff who arrive to gawk at the sheer number of used dishes sitting on the table next to us, on the wall behind us, and on the server stand near us. Interestingly, those piles dishes are not ours as every single dish used from salad to bread to entree is still on our table in tall stacks that we made so we'd have room.) The manager stops them from cleaning it up, and a quiet discussion takes place about having someone very specific take responsibility for his or her actions. The bus staff disappears, and the manager apologizes. An hour and a half has passed, with some having eaten nearly 45 minutes before, and some just beginning to eat. We settled up the $17 bill, left a $10 tip for whomever has to clean the table, and went straight for ice cream. Moral of the skit: We won't drive an hour and fifteen minutes one way back to that place, no matter how nice and patient the manager.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing