We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”

Gumlog Barbecue & Fish Lodge
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Lavonia
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Hartwell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

People wait in line to get in and I can't figure out why. The prices are fair, but their fried fish is little better than fast food fried food. Their barbecued ribs are the best menu item. It is a lake/redneck sort of place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, SC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kind of flavorless..”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've had much better. And I go to those places.. no reason to travel here. What more can I say??????

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry_in_Seneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavonia, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It seems so long from Sunday till Friday!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

First, let me say that we have been eating at Gumlog Barbeque and Fish Lodge for 30+ years. The only thing I would change is to have it open more days - it seems sooo long from Sunday to the next Friday! Our family members all have their own favorites on the varied menu and we have always been exceptionally pleased with our meals. My personal favorites are the BBQ chicken (moist!) and the BBQ ribs (tender, with plenty of sweet BBQ sauce baked on). My husband likes to get fish fillets, large chicken strip salad, boiled shrimp, or chopped steak plates. Our kids love the pulled pork BBQ and Brunswick stew. The hushpuppies are awesome - sweet and crispy.

The restaurant is off the beaten path near Lake Hartwell, not far from the entrance to Tugalo State Park. It may be a little out of your way, but it will be a side trip well worth taking. Just be sure you are coming on a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rol-n-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to this restaurant for as long as I can remember. I have moved away, and wish I could take it with me. The food is consistent, the service is good, and the prices are reasonable. The Ribeye's are cooked to perfection. The catfish plate is delicious. The hush puppies are a little taste of heaven. The slaw is good, the burgers are good, the shrimp is good. The BBQ sandwiches have their own style and are good. The Brunswick stew is awesome as well. I have never had a bad meal there and I have been hundreds of times over the course of many years. They offer plenty of sweet tea, which is also good and they have crushed ice. Their chicken plates are wonderful too. I will be driving a couple of hours in the near future to eat there again. It use to be an every weekend event!!!! I may have to bring a cooler and freeze some stew! This is my favorite restaurant of all times. It isn't fancy, it is just rustic and reliable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southpawcity7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“BEST BBQ!!!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

If you want incredible BBQ, southern hospitality, and GREAT value, go to Gumlog. Have been twice but my girlfriend has been going for years with her family from Hartwell. Both experiences were awesome but most recently I had the BEST ribs of my life. So meaty! Also enjoy the brunswick stew and coleslaw. Everything is sooo good and sooo cheap. I wanted to pay 3 times what they charged. Please go you won't be disappointed. Also extremely friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wickniley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gumlog Barbecue & Fish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing