We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food”

Downtown Cafe and Pizzeria
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Lavonia
Cuisines: American, Greek, Italian
Restaurant details
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was excellent and the service was good. They have a variety of Italian dishes on the menu. I had the hawaiian stromboli and it was quite good. As we were entering the restaurant, another couple coming out told us about how good their spaghetti was. If you are in Lavonia, I highly recommend the Downtown Café.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Play, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good food, great prices”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located in the heart of Lavonia Ga. this place has good food and good prices. They make a great pizza and I just love their Stromboli.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
“Frazzled staff, unbussed tables, mediocre food at best.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Waitresses tried, but seemed overwhelmed. Most of the tables were empty, but piled with dirty dishes when we arrived. Gyro was pretty yuk. Pasta dish was okay.
Cool historic photos on walls. Desserts looked appetizing, but decided not to chance it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great menu and lots of great food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The menu is very large and the food is great! Very nice staff and excellent dessert as well. Lots of food for less than 10 dollars. If I lived nearby, would definitely have takeout weekly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavonia, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Downtown Cafe offers tasty variety and friendly service”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Downtown Cafe and Pizzeria in downtown Lavonia, GA, offers a wide variety of tasty Greek, Italian, and American-style entrees at very reasonable prices. The portions are generous, and we frequently end up taking home enough for another meal. They have daily specials (at lunch they include your drink) which are even better deals than their usual good prices. If the food were not also excellent, such specials alone would not suffice to draw us in, but we have always been very pleased with the preparation and quality of our menu selections.

My favorites are the Zorba Chicken Pasta (w/marinara sauce), the Chicken and/or Seafood Alfredo (vegetable version is also very good), the Zorba Chicken Salad, Chicken Parmigiana (they will grill the chicken if you ask), and their cheeseburger plate with Greek fries. (They have a double cheeseburger, too, but I don't know how anyone could fit that huge sandwich in their mouth!) There are numerous other Greek and Italian dishes, sandwiches, subs, pizza, and HUGE Strombolis of various types. They also offer steak, hamburger steak, fish fillets, shrimp, and chicken strip entrees. The servers are very friendly and attentive and the cooks take extra care to be sure the customers are pleased with their meals. They willingly tweak orders per customer requests (i.e. grilling the chicken parmigiana or substituting a tossed salad for fries). The cafe is always full of regular, local patrons - which tells you a lot about the food and the service! They also receive a lot of take-out orders for local businesses at lunchtime.

Downtown Cafe is conveniently located on the town square in an historic building across from the old railroad depot. On the walls are several framed enlargements of old photographs of downtown Lavonia from around the turn of the century showing some of the same scenes you can view from the front windows. Although it could use some updating (new flooring, etc) the overall ambiance of the restaurant is warm and welcoming, whether one is having a quick business lunch, an evening date, or a dinner get-together with friends.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rol-n-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Cafe and Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Cafe and Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing