We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$125
$110
QualityInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Americas Best Value Inn(Clayton)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Hearth Inn Toccoa(Toccoa)(Great Value!)
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Toccoa)
$64
QualityInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
206
59
17
11
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
59
17
11
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallcommon areastroutget awaybed and breakfastquicheincluded breakfastpotatoesother guestspontoon boatthin wallsshrimp and gritshomemade cookiesthe hotel managergranolarustic feelromantic weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 309 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We visit Lake Rabun every summer with our family and our trip is not complete without going to the Lake Rabun Hotel; it's considered a family tradition! Not only is the hotel itself beautiful and inviting (inside and out), but the food is delicious, pleasing even our pickiest eater (you must try their fried shrimp!) And you won't find a staff more determined to cater to your every need.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonsimsgruidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Nestled among towering evergreens overlooking a beautiful mountain lake that looks as if it had been transplanted from Canada, the restored circa 1920 Lake Rabun Hotel begins to work its charm just looking at it. When you enter the tastefully redecorated interior and are greeted by the friendly and attentive staff, you know you have come to the right place for a relaxing and pampered respite. However, a full appreciation of what is in store doesn't come until you sit down for your first meal served by a first rate staff and enjoy the generous wine list and skillfully prepared Southern cuisine with a country-French flair. Lake Rabun Hotel is an absolute delight and not to be missed if one is in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia_Adventurer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The Lake Rabun Hotel is unlike any other hotel we have ever stayed at. From the fireplace to the koi pond, it captures America at its best. One feels the history and gentleness of the Great Smoley Mountains, and has the instant urge to get a book and a nook under one of the immense overhanging oak trees. The surrounding area is beautiful and the innkeepers are more than helpful to make your stay unforgettable. The food and wine selection is first class. The genuiness of this little jewel is its strongest attribute. It's the real McCoy. Don't miss it!

Penny Burkitt

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The hotel and restaurant provide a sense of history amid the beauty of Lake Rabun and surrounding mountains. The staff is helpful when you need them but leave you alone to enjoy the serenity of the surroundings. Love the porch and the willow rockers overlooking the waterfall and the lake.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I really needed a break, a place I could go relax, regroup, and regenerage.

The Lake Rabun Hotel was an ideal choice for me. I flew into Atlanta, rented a car and in a couple of hours was in a delightful mountain retreat. Beautiful views of the lake, a small waterfall outside my window, really comfy bed, and a balcony outside my door where I sat with a glass of wine and soaked up the sights of the rock gardens, glistering lake, tall hemlocks and pines and great mountain air. The restoration of this old hotel was masterful. It was everything I thought it would be and more.

The food was delicious. They have a new award winning chef who prepares great southern dishes using locally grown produce fresh from the garden and Georgia has some great seafood - I loved the mountain trout, shrimp and grits with Charleston style tomato gravy, and the jumbo lump blue crab cakes with grained mustard cream was out of this world!

Though I spent plenty of time relaxing, there were wonderful moments hiking over to the Minnehaha waterfalls (a real gem), whitewater rafting on the Chattooga River, and boating on Lake Rabun. Guests at the hotel get a 10% discount on boat rentals across the street.

A real plus for me was the fact I went out and got some great exercise whitewater rafting then came back to the hotel and got one of the best massages I've ever had. The massage therapist was so sensitive and intuitive and extremely skilled in handling areas of my body that were out of alignment.

After four days I left the Lake Rabun Hotel relaxed, rejuvenated, and ready to focus on what was really important in my life. I'll be back again and again.

AP

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews