We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night from down under...and I don't mean Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakemont
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lake Rabun is a charming inn, converted from an old hunting lodge. The breakfast is terrific.

We stayed one night and immediately left the next morning after breakfast, losing hundreds of dollars on a nonrefundable reservation. I've never done something like this before. It took us 5 hours to get there from North Carolina. However, the bed was so substandard that it was impossible to get a decent night's sleep.

Let me explain. First, the bed was small, hard, and caved in in the middle. It creaked every time you moved, which meant anything other than sleeping would create a racket. The quilt was some type of polyester fiberfill, and I suspect the sheets and other bedding were probably synthetic materials. My husband and I woke up repeatedly--hot now, cold now, hot now, cold now. We tried opening a window, thinking if we got the room cold enough it would be okay. It was not. I tried to sleep on the edge of the bed so I wouldn't disturb him when I woke up, but the feeling was like trying to sleep on a cliff. I could hear another guest snoring. Which explains the reason there was a sound machine in the room.

The rooms are so tiny that there is no room for a chair, bedside table, or cabinet to hang clothes. If you look closely at the photo, you'll see what looks like a branch affixed to the wall above the bed. That's where you hang your clothes. The inn has public rooms, so there are charming spaces to hang out with other guests. But if you like a little privacy, you will not get it in your room. And note: we were told, "Oh, you have our best room!"

The bathroom door--which looked original to the house--was mis-hung so that there was a large gap at the top. The door stuck to the floor. Going to the bathroom during the night meant shoving the door closed and creating a loud screech. Later my husband said he figured out that if he lifted it by the doorknob, it didn't scrape across the floor. But he's got biceps like Pop-eye.

Also note that the Lake Rabun Hotel is neither on Lake Rabun nor does it have access to the lake. It never occurred to me to ask if the hotel was on the water! You can get a peek of the lake from the upstairs porch, but that's it. If I'm going to a lake, I'd like to enjoy the water--at least see it!

And speaking of the upstairs porch, be advised that if you have allergies to cats, which I don't, you will not be able to use the porch. The owner keeps the cat's water and food on the porch, which is very small. A white fluffy cat sleeps in the largest rocker, so be sure to brush and pick off all the hair before you sit down, in the event that you are wearing black. The cat is one of 2 that I saw. One of my daughters is highly allergic to cats, and she would never be able to so much as set foot on the porch.

I noticed that the other porch, which could be for the Garden Room (?), actually looks out over the parking lot. I felt sorry for the couple I saw seated there when the gas company pulled up. Nothing romantic about being 20 feet from people getting in & out of their cars.

I have traveled widely and am fairly easy going about accommodations. I am not a princess. But I would never recommend this hotel until these basic issues are addressed.

Room Tip: I did not see the interior of "The Innkeeper's Cottage," but if the beds are different...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Writersrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

First, I would like to sincerely apologize on behalf of the staff and management at the Lake Rabun Hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Every issue that was mentioned is being investigated. That being said, I would like to go point by point to address the issues in which you brought up in your review.
The number one aspect about the hotel is our unyielding willingness to make our guests happy. When someone is unhappy, we do whatever is in our power to change that. When a guests leaves without any reason and has not alerted the staff to an early departure, however, there leaves no way in which to make up for any discrepancies in service.
Second, we make it very clear to any guest who contacts us about our rooms, location on the lake, differences in pricing and why, the fact that because the hotel was updated and renovated the size of the rooms were sacrificed in order for every guest room to now have its own bathroom (before the hotel was renovated there were two COMMUNAL bathrooms for guests to use).
Because this is a historic building, there are many aspects of the hotel that cannot be helped (i.e. thinness of the walls and antique door frames). The integrity of such a wonderful building was maintained and therefore certain things about the hotel are certainly not for everyone.
As for our location, we make no secret that we are across the street from Lake Rabun. Because families have been building memories on Lake Rabun since 1915, most of the lakefront property is private and has been this way for almost 100 years. We do, however, offer all of our guests the opportunity to rent pontoon boats, ski boats, canoes, kayaks, etcetera. Just because the lake is the across the street, doesn't mean that it is not seen an enjoyed by all of our guests.
The cats are a part of the Lake Rabun Hotel family and have been here for many years. We understand that some guests are allergic to cats, so we provide several other sitting areas and decks both inside and outside the hotel for you to use.
Again, we apologize profusely that you did not enjoy your brief time here at the hotel, and hope that if such issues every arise and that you do come back and stay (which we sincerely hope that you do), please inform the staff of these issues IMMEDIATELY so that they may be addressed. Thank you again for your comments. We take guest feedback very seriously and work tirelessly to improve service for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 285 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

We absolutely loved our time at the Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant. We stayed in the Andrea room - it's on the lakeside of the hotel & has a fireplace, which we ran several times throughout the weekend as it was cold and rainy on Saturday. We arrived late on Friday (about 9pm) and we were still greeted by a friendly staff who still gave us a tour around the restaurant and hotel despite the late hour and that they were nearing time to go home. The room isn't huge as others have stated but it doesn't need to be...very comfortable. There are noises from doors, floors and furniture but it adds to the charm. Our room was on the first second floor above the lobby/restaurant so there was a bit of noise Saturday night when someone decided to sing "Lean On Me" and play the piano...but the noise was short lived and didn't disturb us too much. The cat who makes her home the porch near the Andrea rooms was very friendly - I'm not a cat person but I enjoyed seeing her there sleeping and she always perked up when you went out onto the porch. The included breakfast was delicious and varied each morning. We booked a romance package that came with a credit for the restaurant so we had dinner on Saturday night - delicious! The credit was enough to cover two entrees (crab cakes and shrimp & grits - yummy!), dessert (strawberry shortcake!) and soda/beer. Our waitress was fantastic and let us know that we were short of using our entire credit so we could order another drink or something to use our full credit. We loved it and will definitely be going back again!

Room Tip: Andrea room is great!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglas_s00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

It is absolutely wonderful that you were able to take advantage to some of the amenities that the hotel has to offer, from the on-site award-winning dining room to the hotel cat, Chloe. Thank you so much for your kind words, and we hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were immediately impressed with the gorgeous location and view of the lake just across the street. The hotel was charming, especially the two resident cats (don't worry, they aren't allowed indoors) and the staff were very attentive and inviting. I created a bit of a snafoo by locking us out of our room almost immediately, but management worked quickly to get us into a different room immediately, and then continued to work on the locked door, which was resolved right away and we were able to get back into the room we originally reserved. We headed into downtown Clayton (~15-20 minute drive north of the hotel) for dinner and had a great time at Universal Joint. We woke up Sunday morning and headed down for the included breakfast, which was FANTASTIC. We didn't want to leave, but are excited to return soon. After check out we spent the rest of the day hiking around the Tallulah Falls State Park (~15 minutes south of the hotel on 144) and I would HIGHLY recommend it.

Long story short, great, charming hotel, very friendly staff, excellent food, CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Minehaha room. The view is of the parking lot, but we were there for such a short t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLover22014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

We cannot wait to have the two of you back as well! Even with the "snaffoo" of getting locked out of your room, it just adds to the charm that is the Lake Rabun Hotel. There are literally dozens of adventures to have throughout Rabun County, so we are just happy to you were able to partake in a few of them. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay here for valentines. We got the Andrea room, very nice with gas fireplace. The food was awesome and the staff was great. This is an old inn that is setup for a romantic time. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Andreas room is the best
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

The Lake Rabun Hotel never misses an opportunity to impress our guests, both with our local cuisine and with our award-winning service. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We cherish each and every one that comes through our doorway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We live in Clarkesville GA. We have heard about Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant. When we walked in the Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, it was beautiful! Wooden furniture was amazing. We had reservations in the Restaurant with friends. We did not have to wait. The atmosphere was good, and the food was excellent. We will go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 24,532,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

We are so happy that you had such a wonderful dining experience! Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to write such a lovely review about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We don't live very far away from the Lake Rabun Hotel, but wanted a quiet escape between Christmas and New Year's and did not want to drive a great distance. We chose the Lake Rabun Hotel and enjoyed every second of our escape. We arrived Friday evening and enjoyed a delicious meal (be sure to make a reservation). The peppermint martini was wonderful. Saturday evening we had another fantastic meal, this time with a mug of hot spiced cider - YUM! Breakfast is beyond any description I could give. Suffice it to say that you won't need lunch. The rooms are small, but had everything we needed. It was especially nice to get away from TV and ringing phones. The ambience was relaxing and enjoyable, and the decorations were lovely. Every staff member we encountered was helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to another opportunity to escape.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We are so glad that you were able to enjoy your "staycation" away from home! Thank you for taking the time to posting your experience at the Lake Rabun Hotel. We cannot wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After Christmas and a wonderful visit with family in North AL and North GA, we wanted to get away from it all before beginning the New Year back in NC. So it was with delight that we found LRH in Lakemont, GA. As we drove through the GA Mountains, and up to Lakemont, we were delighted at the sight of this rustic, charming Inn! We had an informative tour and orientation by Mary and were immediately impressed with the hospitality and charm of all! We had dinner reservations, (highly recommended) and we could not have been more surprised and delighted at the selection! The restaurant is 5 star in every aspect! We stayed in the Andrea Room and were cozy with our fireplace on the cold nights! It has a timer and went out when we were long asleep! The beds are soft, so if you need a firm bed, stay in the cottage! Loved the balcony just outside our room, where Chloe, the Inn's cat, lay curled up! The Christmas decorations and firelpace hearth added all the more ambiance to the sitting area downstairs! The sideboard upstairs offered tea and coffee, as well as Christmas cookies, throughout the day, which was perfect as we came and went throughout the day! Mary advised us with things to do, such as visiting Tallulah Falls, touring the Lakes, and enjoying Clarkesville, Tiger, Lakemont and Clayton, GA! To my delight, as we rode through the mountainside, if I saw one turkey, I saw a hundred! We enjoyed the board games in the parlor and I have never had such wonderful gourmet breakfasts which are included! We stayed three nights and would do it all over again! We highly recommend this beautiful retreat in North GA!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melaney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenna T, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

If I had just one word to describe you as our guests I would simply say: delightful. We genuinely love getting to know our guests and provide "above and beyond" service to everyone. We count both of you friends as well. The drink, by the way, is simply called the Honey Ginger Cocktail. We thank you so much for your patronage and cannot wait to see the two of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakemont
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
7.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Clayton
Days Inn Clayton
#3 of 3 in Clayton
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
Glen-Ella Springs Inn
#1 of 5 in Clarkesville
458 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kingwood Country Club & Resort
7.3 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#1 of 7 in Clayton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 35 Andrea Ln, Lakemont, GA 30552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Lakemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakemont
Price Range: $149 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant celebrated its 95th birthday in 2017. It's the last surviving mountain lodge on a lake in Georgia. Because it has stayed true to the look and the feeling of another, perhaps more peaceful, time, it's been called both a regional and a national treasure. For decades generations have enjoyed the beauty of the lake and mountains. Carefully restored by preservationists in 2008 to maintain its ancestral charm, it features gardens of native plants, rock pillars and walkways, locust log decks, and balconies with views of old growth oaks, pines, and hemlocks. Lake Rabun is one of the most beautiful lakes in the mountains of North Georgia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Rabun Hotel And Restaurant
Lake Rabun Lakemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing