We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nyungwe Top View Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
29
39
21
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
39
21
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomhot water bottlesmosquito nettingwelcome drinklake kivularge bedroomnice balconyvery nice place to stayamazing viewsthe hotel managerminute drivecanopy walkpacked lunchmonkeys playingricethe main reception areastayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 105 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great views, very nice lodges, plenty of bird life, pleasant staff...these are the positives.
We stayed just for one night on the way back from Kigali to Kamembe. Checking in was easy and all of the staff were very helpful. The room was lovely and the bathroom particularly pleasant. A nice touch was that staff lit a fire in the sitting room of our lodge.
Not so good was the food. There was little choice and the evening meal was a buffet style meal that was not really up to the standard I would expect from a hotel charging as much as Top View.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Forest.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel on our honeymoon and had a very nice time.
The cottages are clean and spacious with a sitting room with fireplace (it was really cold and we were happy to have a fireplace in the evening). For breakfast we used to have coffee and a lunch pack. Dinner was good, especially the buffet.
The road to the hotel was under construction and quite an adventure (we were on a self-driving-tour).
The staff was wonderful and especially Baptiste fulfilled all our wishes. THANK YOU ALL

Room Tip: We had the last cottage on the left. A great choice with a wonderful view and very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tembo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived in the dark after a REALLY long drive, feeling a bit fed up! It isn't exactly prepossessing in the dark, but wait till morning and you will see why this place is so popular. The views are great - and you are minutes from where you can go trekking to see the Chimps. The rooms are more like little apartments with a living room with fireplace (cheered us up a lot on our arrival!). Make sure the pump is on if you're wanting a shower! The staff are BRILLIANT - very passionate about Rwanda and very passionate about their hotel. The food is good - limited choices but tastes great. Drink the local beer rather than imported stuff which is much more expensive! I really hope this place continues to do well as it so deserves to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The views here are breathtaking, looking over the hills of rural Rwanda. Staff is very hard working and entertaining to watch. Food was fine and rooms clean and spacious. Big king sized bed which was nice. Rooms have great views and a balcony. No wifi and location a bit isolated but otherwise a great choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hasto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nyungwe Top View Hill hotel is located on a hill near the town of Gisakura. The main building is circular shaped with terraces 360 degrees round with magnificent views, where breakfast and diner is served. The 10 standalone cottages are big and nice equiped: sleeping room, bathroom, balcony with nice view and ensuite with a fire place! Everynight the fire is lightened. There is a basic, tasteful daily menu for lunch and diner with good quality and hopefully the menu is updated and extended later on. Service is not perfect yet, but the staff works hard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJBVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews