We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as I hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in LaGrange
Waxahachie
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good, but not as I hoped”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I drive a large vehicle and that makes it difficult when looking for a place to stay for the night. This large complex has the steepest driveways I have ever seen on a hotel. This is a large hotel divided in half, a Best Western in the front half, and a Super 8 in the back. The access card machine was not working correctly so there was no outside access through any of the gates except for one on the east side of the compound that was left propped open. This was an inconvenience. The room was good. It had a comfortable bed and really soft pillows (maybe too soft). The shower had good pressure and the towels served their purpose. This hotel has a lounge (read- bar) adjacent to the lobby and also access to IHOP from the lobby as the inhouse restaurant. Comp breakfast is served in IHOP with coffee or OJ to drink. Don't try to substitute, tea costs $2.35 extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayettegardeninn, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi and thanks so much for letting us know about your stay. Truck drivers are some of our most valued customers and because you sleep in a hotel room more than most we take your comments very seriously. Please accept my apology about the key issue. A customer spilled coffee on our key machine which caused an inconvenience for you to have to walk so far to get to your room. You will be happy to find our new key machine installed and working properly on your next visit. Thanks again for taking the time. Tanya Lucas-Fannin, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    45
    29
    18
    24
See reviews for
68
41
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very nice location for variety of food, connected to IHOP if you are tired, within walking distance to a Tex-Mex restaurant. Located just off the interstate, it is a very convenient place to stop with gas stations close by. Rooms are comfortable, beds are always comfy at Best Western, fridge and microwave in room. Rates are very reasonable. We always stop here after driving through Atlanta and are ready for a good night's rest before continuing our trip. Never have had a bad stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizGrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayettegardeninn, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are grateful that you and your yorkie had a good stay. Your comments help us to improve so we will be addressing the signage issue soon. Take care and safe travels. Tanya Lucas, FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I had a hard time finding this place, the signage is not up high. When I called to get a landmark, was told across the street from McDonalds... NOT & didn't mention connected to the IHOP which would have been helpful. Anyway the room was clean & cool. Located close to interstate & Tex-Mex resturant within walking distance was ok. They allowed us to bring our yorkie on the patio, so we didnt' have to leave him in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CottonStompin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate your kind words about our property, and we hope that you will visit us again. We are a GREAT value, and the nicest folks work here. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Nice hotel, clean and very friendly. Rooms located around a really nice garden area and pool. Rooms are older but clean. TV not a flat screen but room has a nice size frig and a Microwave. Hotel is connected to an IHOP and we had a very nice breakfast. Hotel has a bar area. Rates were very reasonable. My suggestion would be to get a room on the other side of pool/garden area if you want quiet as you do not know if they will be have=ing a reception going on. It was quiet while we were there. Hotel staff is very nice. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Other side of pool area if you do not want to be close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thanks for your kind words! We will be upgrading to flat screen TV's before the end of 2012, so you can look forward to enjoying that amenity when you return next year:). Look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Clean, comfortable room. Good restaurant. Looking forward to next year.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed over Memorial weekend. It seemed like a great price and pictures made it look more than what it is. When we arrived, we drove by a few other local hotels (many are located on this street) and this one looked the best from the outside. So with that we checked into our room. Once receiving our key and parking we realized that this was a Super 8 (literally still had that sign up in the back) and it looked like the hotel added on the lobby and front (which faced the main road) later on making this hotel seem much nicer than a Super 8. Our room was clean, which was very important, but very small. Our breakfast vouchers allowed us a "free" breakfast of 2 eggs, toast, choice of bacon or sausage, and an oj. Anything else from the menu was an extra price. The voucher also said children under 12 can chose any item on kids menu for free. The problem- depending on who your server is you may or may not receive the kids drinks for free, you may or may not receive a bill, and you may or may not have a breakfast experience lasting around 2 hours because of poor communication. The breakfast is also not free when you take into consideration that you are tipping the server. You may be able to order to go (we never tried that). The free WIFI worked about 10% of the time. The connection they recommended me to use never worked as the signal was poor and I had to use their old super 8/best western link (which was the 10%). Everytime I called about there being no connection, the desk staff didn't seem fazed, and just replyed with a "I'll reset the server..." The pool was great. The hours posted are 10am-10pm, but people were enjoying themselves much earlier and much later than that. All in all, it wasn't a bad stay, but we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the pool (and you need to use your key to access that area), which feels much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayettegardeninn, Front Office Manager at Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at our Best Western hotel. We are happy you enjoyed the pool and other amenities. Our sister property, the Super 8, is located right behind us and we share the same parking lot with them. They have the same standards of cleanliness and superior customer service as we hold here at the Best Western Plus. We are grateful for your feedback and will be using that to make improvements. Happy Travels. The Best Western Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Plus in April 2012. The first night we got to the hotel late (after a 13 hour drive) there was a party going on in the lobby/bar area - VERY smoky and loud. The desk attendant was plesant and gave us the keys to the suite that we had booked. We walked into the room - it smelled old and smoky - the living room tables had no glass in them, the lamps were sitting on the floor with no lamp shades on them, the room looked horrible. We called the front desk - they told us that they had put us in the wrong room. We got the new key and went to the right room - still smelly but everything else appeared to be in order - the suites need some serious updating. You can't slap a granite counter top on on old faucets and sinks and call it a Best Western Plus. It was late when we arrived and nothing was open except for IHOP that is attached to the hotel. We went there to get a bite to eat - what a mistake! Horrible service, cold food that we waited 25 minutes for, drunk patrons making out in the booth behind us, dirty glasses, sticky table, everything was bad. When I booked the room for 2 nights, I paid extra to get the IHOP breakfast but due to the bad experience that we had when we checked out we gave the tickets back to the front desk and told them we wouldn't use them because we wouldn't go back in there because of our bad experience - the front desk gentleman want to hear what we had to say and wasn't the least bit concerned.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayettegardeninn, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you commenting on your stay. Our goal has always been to provide superior customer service, quality accomodations and clean and comfortable rooms. On behalf of our entire team we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We are so grateful for your honest comments that will help us to improve. Please be assured that the issues you mentioned will be addressed by our team. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your and are confident that you will see improvements when you return. Sincerely, Tanya Fannin- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these LaGrange hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these LaGrange hotels
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites LaGrange / I-85
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 11 in LaGrange
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in LaGrange
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites LaGrange
0.6 mi away
LaGrange
LaGrange
#8 of 11 in LaGrange
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center

Property: Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center
Address: 1513 Lafayette Parkway, LaGrange, GA 30241 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Georgia > LaGrange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in LaGrange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See some of Lagrange Georgia's most treasured attractions including Explorations in Antiquity, beautiful Callaway Gardens, Historic Warm Springs and Roosevelt State Park, Hills and Dales Estates, and lovely downtown Lagrange. As LaGrange's only FULL service hotel, the Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center is designed with both business and leisure travelers in mind. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, Serta-Perfect Sleeper mattress for a great night's sleep and a convenient location directly off Interstate 85. The beautiful Legends sports tavern has 4 large screen TVs, 7,000 sq. ft. of ballroom/meeting space, executive catering services, pool, fitness center, and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lagrange
Lagrange Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing