We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacks BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jacks BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant service did not overcome the weak "wood cooked" flavor of pulled pork. Side dishes were average.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Avoid the pulled pork”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stopped there for lunch this week. The staff was great - very friendly and our waitress refilled my wife's iced tea cup for her to take with her for no extra charge. We both got the pulled pork sandwiches. They were very large. However, the pork had a lot of big globs of fat in it. About two or three hours after eating her sandwich, my wife got very ill. My stomach started bothering me about the same time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast and filling and affordable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I ate here years ago. Didn't like it too much. The bbq tasted old and stale. Now it tastes freshly smoked and holy smokes the portions were huge! I managed to eat everything and had some banana pudding to top it all off. I recommend this place to young and old!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pugsabunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Skip it. This is not barbecue.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Fat, greasy beef roast masquerading as barbecue. It takes more than sauce to make good barbecue. When asked staff told us their beef was lean. Far from it. Very fat. Even when we trimmed the visible fat this beef was greasy and barely edible. I left 80 percent on the plate. We will not be back. Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank df03438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was really good and I thought the price was excellent. Most BBQ places are over priced, but this is one that isn't. I will not hesitate to go back often!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chudbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacks BBQ also viewed

 
Kingsland, Georgia Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing