We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Plantation & Grounds Near Atlanta”

Stately Oaks Plantation
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Jonesboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stately Oaks is an 1839 antebellum house listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Its plain Greek Revival architecture is representative of the era in which it was built. It was originally constructed in 1839 by Mr. Whitmill Allen who sold his home to Robert McCord in 1858 and then moved to Tyler, Texas. It is located in Jonesboro, GA., the very city where Scarlett had to pay the taxes on Tara. Even though Tara only existed in Margaret Mitchell's imagination, she placed Tara in Clayton County where she had visited relatives who lived on a large plantation south of Jonesboro. Many of the stories she heard as a child are in the movie. Clayton County is truly home of Gone With the Wind. Also on site, are a one room schoolhouse, a tenant cabin, cook's house, country store, blacksmith shop and Native American Indian Village.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Plantation & Grounds Near Atlanta”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just about 30 minutes from Midtown, this is a fantastic antebellum home with a fun grouping of buildings. The country store, where you buy your ticket, has lots of unique gifts including moonshine jelly! The clerk in the store gave us a map of the grounds, which had several interesting buildings.

The one room schoolhouse from around 1900 had a classroom setup and looked like it doubled as an event facility. Other outbuildings, including a tenant cabin, kitchen house, outhouse, barn, as well as a small Creek Indian village. Lots of fun buildings to poke around outside prior or after the house tour.

The docents on the tour were simply fantastic - the knowledge they possess of the original family, and the contents of the house is a great learning experience. Both docents brought the place to life and I found this one of the most interesting guided house tours I've taken. It didn't feel scripted. While it's not the fancy plantation of a Hollywood film, it was an upscale four over four with amazing heart pine wood. It's such a history lesson to learn about how people lived and what different household items were used for.

All in all - a great way to spend some time and experience plantation life, the antebellum south as there really isn't any within the city of Atlanta itself due to being burned in 1864. Highly recommend this for either history buffs, and a fun outing for kids (especially the Creek Indian village).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ATL_Travel_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    45
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rhymney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here as part of a tour so cannot comment on value . The house was opened just for us on a Sunday morning and the staff were very friendly and informative . Smaller than other plantations I have visited in New Orleans but very interesting especially the reconstructed out buildings . Felt the staff were very enthusiastic about the site

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This deal cannot be beat”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

great performance for reasonable ticket price. Well worth it been there several times and always enjoyed it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GEKKEGOZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Realistic”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Stately Oaks staff offer many tidbits and information regarding the historical aspects of the place as well as the famous Gone with the Wind movie. Enjoy the local scenes at this place located in downtown Jonesboro, GA.

Just north of this place and close to I-75 you will find plenty of eating places as well as some shopping.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RayQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Glimpse of Plantation Life”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was an enjoyable house tour that is also an educational park with various outbuildings to wander around and in. Admission inside the house is a bit more that the few dollars admissions to only walk the grounds. There is a small, country store with cute odds and ends to purchase.

The tour guides (who are volunteers and live locally) were extremely kind and friendly. They greet you and are there for questions. During the tour a CD is played that tells you about the house, the furnishings and about life during the antebellum era. The home has its own Civil War Story to tell as well, as it was in the area of the Battle of Jonesboro.

Other reviews seemed disappointed, but I am a teacher and I can see how the tour and grounds would be especially helpful to bring the past to life for children. I was only with adults, but I knew that a visit to this park would have been a nice educational experience for my children.

My group found that Jonesboro (overall) and the Stately Oaks Plantation were a great place to stop for a day trip between our visits to Atlanta and Savannah. The home is not in its original location, but it was a nice experience. We found it difficult to find a plantation to visit on our trip between Atlanta and Savannah. So, we were happy to get at least part of the experience of a plantation - the home. As a side note, we were able to experience the "land" portion of a plantation when we visited the Wormsloe Plantation near Savannah. There, we were able to walk and drive down the long oak alley and see the ruins of an early plantation home. The land was surrounded by marshes. It was a beautiful drive and visit. They have a colonial life village that would be great to see with children. This plantation does have a plantation home, but it is private, and somewhat hidden by trees. It is a private residence.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stately Oaks Plantation also viewed

 

Been to Stately Oaks Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing