We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For movie buffs”

Road To Tara Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Margaret Mitchell's 'Gone with the Wind' Tour in...
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Jonesboro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Official Home of Gone With the Wind, the Road to Tara Museum invites you to relive Rhett and Scarlett's epic romance. From the true stories of the 1864 Battle of Jonesboro to the characters that brought Margaret Mitchell's beloved novel to life, there is something for everyone. See original movie props and wardrobe items, reproductions of some of Scarlett's most famous dresses, items from the 1939 Atlanta premiere and a Civil War exhibit featuring the Atlanta Campaign and Battle of Jonesboro.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Visited here on my last day in town. It's a bit hard to get to if you don't drive and it was smaller than I thought.
The costumes are wonderful reproductions that do the dress makers credit for their detail. The bus tour is interesting focusing more on mrs Mitchell's early life than the film itself, bit is an interesting historical narrative.

Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road_to_Tara_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Road To Tara Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your review! Our costume guild worked to get our reproduction dresses close to the originals, so we're glad you enjoyed the details of them. We hope you had a great trip in August and would love to see you at our museum on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gwtw fan"
in 19 reviews
"margaret mitchell"
in 22 reviews
"bus tour"
in 10 reviews
"civil war"
in 35 reviews
"gift shop"
in 17 reviews
"railroad depot"
in 4 reviews
"movie memorabilia"
in 3 reviews
"lovely collection"
in 2 reviews
"small location"
in 2 reviews
"favorite movie"
in 2 reviews
"ladies working"
in 2 reviews
"historical artifacts"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"stately oaks plantation"
in 6 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"bucket list"
in 2 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

I would have to disagree with the individual who thought the bus tour wasn't worth it. While the town is small, you have no way of knowing much of the history of the town or the intersections with the book without the narration provided on the tour. While you can view the homes and stops without being on the tour, most do not have historic markers. For example, the Wells Fargo Bank is just a bank until you listen to the story from the Civil War on the tour narration. The bus tour drivers are delightful; I have taken the bus tour multiple times and enjoyed each driver's additional information each time. There are two tours offered, with some overlap between the two. If you don't want to take both, I would recommend the GWTW over the Southern Belles & Whistles. If you are a fan of the book and/or the movie, this is the best stop outside of Atlanta for GWTW.

1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road_to_Tara_Museum, Public Relations Manager at Road To Tara Museum, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your most recent visit to see our museum. It's great to hear that you've been to see us several times and we hope you continue to visit us when you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Visited here in the 1st of the GWTW 75th anniversary celebrations.
Only cost 75cents for the museum, which was fantastic. They have the largest collection of memorabilia from the movie and also Margaret Mitchell, and some general history if the battle if Jonesboro. The tour GWTW bus tour that they offer however is not that great. The bus just drives up and down some of the local streets showing a few houses and also a stop at the confederate soldiers cemetery. You can walk to most of these yourself and do not need the bus tour. By the time we waited for the tour we had already walked to 50% of them. Because of the celebrations the tour only cost us $7.50 usually it would be $24.50. There is no way I would pay full price for this tour. Just get the information from the museum and walk to the homes yourself.

1  Thank CMN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 12, 2014

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you were able to visit us during our celebration week of the 75th anniversary of Gone With the Wind. Thank you for your feedback on our historic bus tours. We offer them as a comfortable way for visitors to see Jonesboro and hear the historical ties between the town and Gone With the Wind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

live the experience, have watched the movie many times with my mother and the museum makes the memories of the time spent with my mother watching this, exhibits are wonderful

Thank Ladyandtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This tour shows you the homes that inspired Gone with the Wind. The guided tape on the tour van tells you about Margaret Mitchell's gathering the information for the book. The tour is very informative and lasts about an hour and 15 minutes. Hop on and off the van for photos. After that, you can spend as long as you like in the museum. Everyone should know that they will not see Tara, the plantation. Tara never existed... it was a movie set in Hollywood.

Thank ramblin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Road To Tara Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing