We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidental stopover at end of honeymoon worked out well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Jonesboro
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after Delta messed our flights up and had to keep us in Atlanta for 24 hours.

We expected just an average hotel and indifferent service but instead were treated to excellent service and very nice facilities.

Front desk were fantastic (including Simone and Teresa), they let us have a really late checkout so we could visit the town centre and not worry about our bags and so we could shower when we got back.

The restaurant team were brilliant, feeding all of us weary travelers (15 of us from that flight) despite us turning up just past kitchen closing time. They handled the coupons from the airline with ease and made us feel very welcome. Food was good.

The shuttle staff were great too, giving us good directions to downtown and showing us in person where the train access at the airport was. They were very friendly and informative, especially Darrel.

The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed using the pool.

Thank you very much, our delayed honeymoon flight home actually ended up being a very pleasant extra day on our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Talk to the very nice front desk staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Clarion Hotel offers a clean and comfortable room for a reasonable price. The fantastic part about my stay was the new addition to the hotel, Close Up 2 jazz club. If you're a jazz lover or a fan of live performance in general then you'll enjoy visiting this club. An added bonus to my quick getaway to experience the night life without leaving the hotel!

The hotel staff and club staff was friendly and accommodating. The band was awesome and the food was delicious!

I can't wait to get back to CU2 and Clarion family again this Fall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanelle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel was clean and employees very friendly, especially Sabree Curtis and JiBig(?) Shuttle drivers were very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbertch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We missed our AirTran flight and they put us up here. Let me say that the staff was very helpful at this hotel. I needed to use the clothes dryer which was jamming and the maintenance man was up there to help fix it in just a few short minutes. The pool was nice and my children enjoyed swimming in it. The free 24-hr shuttle to the airport was great and the driver was sweet. The area was questionable but we didn't leave the hotel so it didn't matter to me. The food at the hotel restaraunt was tasty but a little pricey. The room was picked up and seemed clean except for the comforter. It was obviously dirty in a few places with some gross adult stuff. Needless to say we slept without it and the top sheet. I wouldn't stay here again because of this but if that issue was resolved it certainly gets the job done.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool, it's nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsfarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had the privilege of being invited to the grand opening of the Close Up 2 Jazz club in Atlanta located at the Clarion Hotel. The jazz club is the newest addition to the hotel. They remodeled the restaurant that is now called Craving and added a lounge area for your relaxation. The food was was excellent, the entertainment was spectacular, the rooms were comfortable, the rates are reasonable and they offer free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Other amenities, include a swimming pool,banquet hall, and internet access. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I was scared of getting mugged in te elevator. It was cheaply remodeled. Cheesy. There is hair stuck in my towels and bathtub. The comforter is wool and not really a comforter. After a long day of delayed flights I almost rather sleeping at the airport. I'm scared to touch the bed. The guy at the front desk was nice but reminded me of the bellhop in hot tub time machine. Creepy. I'm not trying to be racist at all but the club and restaurant favors the black crowd. Only one person in it. Good luck. Should have stayed at the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The new jazz club CloseUp 2 located in the Clarion Hotel is phenomenal ! 2 friends of mine and I planned a weekend getaway in Atlanta and we chose The Clarion hotel as our lodging place for a few reasons. The #1 reason being CloseUp 2 jazz club.

The hotel was extremely cordial to us and accommodating when we realized our reservation was a little mixed up. The staff quickly resolved the issue. The Clarion hotel is a very pleasant place to stay right outside the Atlanta-Hartsfield airport.

The new jazz club nestled on the opposite side of the lobby features a two-sided bar with plenty of comfortable seating, a lounge area, great club seating and one of the best chefs in Atlanta serving you delectable dishes at your table.

CloseUp2 features some of the best smooth jazz artists in the country and the club is the only smooth jazz club in the U.S.

If you are a jazz lover and enjoy a mature relaxed crowd, CloseUp2 at the Clarion Hotel is the place to be! Live jazz every Friday and Saturday night!
JAH/Chicago

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jai0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jonesboro
2.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Atlanta Morrow
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta Southlake
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Atlanta I-75 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Forest Park Atlanta South
1.1 mi away
Magnolia Bay Hotel & Suites - Jonesboro
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Southlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South

Address: 6288 Old Dixie Hwy, Jonesboro, GA 30236
Location: United States > Georgia > Jonesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Jonesboro
Price Range: $64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport, the choice for accommodations on the south side of Atlanta. Experience a full service stay on a limited service budget! Our complimentary amenities include 24 hour airport shuttle service, hot/cold buffet breakfast, parking, Wi-Fi internet access, business center, and local calls. Join us for live jazz performances every weekend in the CloseUp2 Jazz Lounge. Enjoy amazing culinary delights in Cravings American Bistro- open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service.Other features include a seasonal outdoor pool with large sundeck and separate kiddie pool, picnic area, as many as seven separate meeting/socializing spaces with a combined 4200 square feet. We are an ideal location for your wedding, family reunion or general get-together. Here on business? We've got you covered there too! Audio/video packages, flexible meeting, and catering options are available.Conveniently located just off of Interstate 75 Exit 235, we are minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, and the Atlanta Motor Speedway. The Georgia Aquarium, the Atlanta Braves Turner Field, CNN Center and the World of Coca Cola are just some of the local attractions just a short drive away.Motorcoach tours welcome- we provide free parking in our ample bus-friendly lot. Government and military per diem rates honored.Call today for information on rates, packages, and specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Clarion Hotel Atlanta Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing