We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for Children”

Georgia Sea Turtle Center
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best for Children”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The turtle hospital was the best part of the tour, I recommend this is for children mostly. Good education on turtles and why it is important to help save these turtles. You can see the turtles in the hospital, some were very sick and wounded. It was nice to see people to concerned and helpful to these creatures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,055
    406
    119
    20
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,359 reviews
675 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“Follow the life of a sea turtle”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

They care for injured sea turtles here and educate visitors on their life.

There's a cute step by step stamp game where you choose a stamper at each station and what ever you emboss becomes your story. My turtle made it to a ripe old age and lived a good life.

Bring the kids or just come yourself and learn something

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There was a cute little turtle that followed me (in her tank) as I walked around it.....I didn't want to leave!!! There are many amazing giant and small turtles that were rescued and are being rehabilitated. Worth the visit!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrills Ford, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great for the whole family”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Interesting exhibits. The last time I was there, we were able to watch surgery being performed on a snake. You can also see the turtles they are rehabilitating and read about them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sonya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hospital for turtles”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think this is one of the most interesting parts of the island. You can purchase a brick with you rname on it. They place in on the path to center and money goes for turtles. Everytime you go to island there will be diffferent turtles they have rescued. Love it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Sea Turtle Center also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Georgia Sea Turtle Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing