We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pulled pork”

Love Shack BBQ Shrimp & Yardbird
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Description: The Love Shack BBQ Shrimp & Yard Bird - A little old place where we can get together . . . featuring the island's best BBQ, Fried Wild Georgia Shrimp & Oysters, Chicken Fingers or Half Rotisserie Chicken. Our Whole Rotisserie Chickens, Smoked BBQ, Chicken Wings, and Shrimp available for party platters and catering. Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to close.
Restaurant details
Description: The Love Shack BBQ Shrimp & Yard Bird - A little old place where we can get together . . . featuring the island's best BBQ, Fried Wild Georgia Shrimp & Oysters, Chicken Fingers or Half Rotisserie Chicken. Our Whole Rotisserie Chickens, Smoked BBQ, Chicken Wings, and Shrimp available for party platters and catering. Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to close.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

We stopped here for lunch,counter service. It is a little hard to find as it is in a market with a variety of shops. My husband ordered the pulled pork, I ordered the fried oysters. Because we brought our food back to the hotel, my oysters were not as crisp as they were, but my husband raved about the pulled pork. He said it was one of the best ever and we live in the South.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank speedhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 341 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

The Jekyll Market offers some of the best food on Jekyll island with the Love Shack menu. I have especially enjoyed the fried shrimp and BBQ chicken. The sides are also delicious. Whoever designed that store with these restaurants, the deli, bakery, the grocery store and the cool atmosphere was brilliant. We always eat here when we are on the island!

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

Super-nice fellow behind the counter takes your order, and you get to carry-out for dining outside in the sunshine or inside the store if the weather is bad. Barbecue sauces selection covers a broad range, including Memphis style (the best). Pulled pork sandwich was huge, big enough to split; sweet potato fries were yummy. Cole slaw is superb, not goopy, with coarsely-shredded cabbage...wonderful, creamy, sweet flavor.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MountainSongBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

On 3-7-17, my husband and I shared a large ($15) fried shrimp basket with cole slaw and french fries for lunch. The shrimp (18) were fresh, local, wild-caught and were lightly battered, and cooked gently to perfection. The cole slaw was fresh, slightly tart, and tasty, and the fries were crisp, hot, and also excellent. The proprietor and the staff were eager to please. For a great lunch, you can't hope for anything better than the Love Shack.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Great place to grab lunch. Nice salad bar, seafood, bbq, chicken, burgers etc. Clean facility and friendly staff. Tables inside and outside.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Love Shack BBQ Shrimp & Yardbird also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Love Shack BBQ Shrimp & Yardbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing