We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Easter Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard at Crane

Courtyard at Crane
Reserve with OpenTable
Courtyard at Crane is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: School House Lane
Description: The Courtyard at Crane, Jekyll Island, a less formal dining option, is located in the center courtyard and loggia of the historic Crane Cottage. The cottage, designed in 1917 by Chicago architects Adler and Dangler, was inspired by an Italian Renaissance villa admired by Richard T. Crane Jr., the original owner. Guests are offered the option of dining inside or outside.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Easter Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had brunch this morning here as part of their Easter Buffet. The food was beautiful and delicious and there was something for everyone! Breakfast items cooked to order, carved meats and a plethora of seafood...all beautifully displayed in a gorgeous outdoor courtyard. I loved the beer cheese soup, which I believe is part of their regular menu. Between the eight of us, we were all very pleased.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    107
    26
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Casual And Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had dinner on two consecutive nights at the Courtyard at Crane. The evenings were cool, and the fireplaces made for a wonderful atmosphere. The food was truly exceptional! Our server on both nights, Gabriella, was pretty amazing, too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than a lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

You could have fed me PB&J and I would have felt like I was eating Beluga Caviar in this environment.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wtsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful spot on Jekyll Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We enjoyed lunch at this restaurant during a recent stay on Jekyll Island. This is a very charming spot in the historic district. I had the very item pictured here - the chicken salad - which was quite well prepared and my wife ordered a tossed salad. We were very satisfied and the prices were reasonable. Service was efficient as well. Our experience was limited but I would definitely return here in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Jekyll Island is trying hard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

At at Courtyard at Crane, description is accurate and you can dine outside in the courtyard weather permitting. But inside is a lovely view across the lawns of a sunset as well. We were on island for Valentines day so we never expect too much given the mass produced feeling for the evening. They had a great menu, not limited and fix price. We were treated very nicely and the food was very good an generous portions. I had to mark down for a tough veal chop that I traded in for the duck breast, but they were very solicitious about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RNYClakelanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courtyard at Crane also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Courtyard at Crane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing