We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Dining Room

Grand Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $60
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The Jekyll Island Club Hotel Grand Dining Room continues to be the scene of social gatherings and gourmet experiences. Beautifully restored in the Victorian mode, the room is dominated by Ionic columns and gleaming white woodwork. Three handsome fireplaces, complete with intricately carved mantle pieces and marble surrounds, add warmth and cheer on a winter’s day. The lawns and the river can be seen through expansive windows, and the first blossoms of crepe myrtle and magnolia trees color the landscape in early spring. The glow of candlelight and piano music create an atmosphere of romance and anticipation of the gourmet meal to come. A cause celebre in Southern Georgia dining is the Grand Dining Room’s Sunday brunch, a culinary and visual delight. The last Sunday of most months boasts Sunday Dinner Dance with gourmet dining and ballroom dancing.
Lynnfield
Level Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Grand Dining Room at the Jekyll Island Hotel was indeed grand. The tables were set with linens and the waiter was extremely attentive. We had the breakfast buffet and it was excellent. The cost was very reasonable. It was a great morning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    133
    53
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we discovered this place by accident while making an unexpected stop on the island. excellent food, service and super cool dining room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back in Time: Beautiful Place and Wonderful Meal!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had Sunday brunch at the Hotel's Grand Dining Room. The place is just amazing and takes you back to another era. The food was just perfect - everything from cheeses to fruits, lamb to corned beef, many desserts and much more! We love going here every time we visit Jekyll Island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ericebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast Buffet with the Family on Sunday morning.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food was nicely prepared. Eggs, Bacon, sausages, pastries, fruit, juices, cereals, coffee, grits, oatmeal, etc. Just walking fron our rooms to breakfast was a nice change. Staff very attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewies_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Good Restaurant, though a bit overpriced”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We almost didn't eat here, as my husband had not brought a jacket with him, and the literature suggested that gentlemen wear jackets. He did have a tie, though, and I had a dress, and no one said we couldn't go in the dining room for dinner.

The place was practically empty, I believe as a result of the "jacket" rule. However, there were other diners that weren't dressed any better than we were.

The food and service were both good. I liked my dinner better than my husband did. I especially loved the Key Lime Pie.

The prices were a bit high.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Dining Room also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Grand Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing