We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCormicks Grill

McCormicks Grill
Ranked #17 of 29 Restaurants in Jekyll Island
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thomaston, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we went for lunch and got a sandwich and hamburger which was huge. the views of the golf course was amazing. will go back again

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa35309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    50
    26
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Several great restaurants on the Island....this is NOT one of them!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have never written a bad review in my life, but there was just no way I could not inform travelers of our horid experience at this restaurant. This was our first visit to Jekyll Island, and believe me, there are some wonderful restaurants on the Island, so there is no need at all to visit this dump! Our experience began at the front door, where we had to step over vomit to get into the restaurant...that in and of itself should have been clue enough! We did decide to enter though, stood waiting, not knowing if we were to seat ourself or wait to be seated (should have known by the looks of the place that we would seat ourselves). One waitess walks up to us, only to check someone out and then walk off, not even acknowledging that we were there. A few minutes later, she tells us to seat ourselves. After passing 4 tables that had not been cleared from the previous patrons, we finally found a cleared table. Ten minutes later and still no waitress, so we decided to leave. On our way out we mentioned to the only waitresses we saw while there, that they needed to clean up a mess at the front door. She gave us a look that said she could care less. I have no doubt that the Golf Course is the only thing keeping this place in business, perhaps they have great service and drinks at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We eat here before and after our rounds of golf while at Jekyll. The breakfast is reasonably prices and generous. The hamburger at lunch is wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shari1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normal
1 review
“best food place on jekyll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

the best place on the island. great food and prices. i eat there at least once a week. it never gets old and its always quick service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank delila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“1980 flashback”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We almost got up and left before someone came to take our drink order. Wish we had...it's right on the golf course, so I'm sure it's great for snack's etc, but for out-of-towners on vacation, you need to choose somewhere else. I have to just assume like others that restaurants like this get by because of reduced competition on the island. Our food was surely taken out of the freezer, heated up and served. Wife had a salad, and when they cut a slice of the processed cheese into little squares, we have to wonder how often they serve things other than fries. Breakfast may be better, but lunch would be a "no go!"

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shabubs-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormicks Grill also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to McCormicks Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing