We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat on the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fins On The Beach - CLOSED

Fins On The Beach
Price range: $0 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Jekyll Island visitors and residents alike have been anticipating a fresh new restaurant, designed to satisfy their every seafood craving and now they have it with Fins on the beach! The former Blackbeard’s Seafood Restaurant, has been completely renovated and features a revamped and improved food and drink selection. The menu at Fins has been built from scratch to provide delicious flavors, unbeatable freshness and variety to please everyone. Enjoy signature dishes like the Fried Oyster Bucket or the Key West Salmon Salad! What are you waiting for? Join us on the back deck, overlooking the beautiful Jekyll Island beach and ocean and try out this fun new place to dine!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat on the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased with the quality of the seafood, the service and the views. Fresh seafood cooked to perfection. Loved the ocean view.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abigail29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    128
    80
    43
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice deck overlooking the beach and ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good selection on the menu. You can eat inside or outside, but if the weather is nice, definitely go for the outdoor deck (great views). Large servings. Reasonable prices (dinner for two with drinks, taxes and tip - $45.00 range).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rbthodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swainsboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Jekyll Island. Mixed reviews and previous experiences with Blackbeard's (former name of the restaurant) had kept us from dining at Fins. This past weekend we decided to stop by for drinks and an appetizer just to test the waters and couldn't have been more pleased. In fact after a cocktail and some hushpuppies we decided to go ahead and order lunch. The service was great, the prices reasonable, and the view was beautiful. We ate outside. We ordered the fish tacos and fried oysters and they were both delicious. We look forward to eating at Fins on our next trip to Jekyll!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fourbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose Fins because we thought it would be a good seafood restaurant. We were surprised at how limited the selection of seafood actually was. We both ended up getting shrimp dishes for dinner. They were ok, nothing special. The prices were a bit high for what you were getting. Service was ok, a bit slow even though it was pretty early and not very busy. The patio area looked nice but we chose to eat indoors since it was a bit chilly out. Overall an average experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1616GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat on Jeckyll Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We sat on the patio for dinner and an I glad we did! I had the shrimp & grits and my wife had the seafood salad. We travel a lot since I retired and I will say that this is the best restaurant on Jekyll island. I have eaten at 95% of the restaurants on the island and this was the best experience we have ever had. My family lives in Jacksonville so we will be coming up with the family for Christmas!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennstate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins On The Beach also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing