We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit while on Jekyll!”

Tidelands Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Run by the University of Georgia, this self-guided nature center offers hands-on experiences with local animals including fish, crabs, and reptiles. The center also offers guided kayak tours, canoe/paddle boat rentals, and various environmental education programs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cleveland, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must visit while on Jekyll!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stopped by during a rainy afternoon and had a great time! The center is small, but very well maintained and informative. The staff is amazing and not only took the time to talk to us about the center, but also recommended a restaurant for lunch and spoke to my college age daughter about possible majors to work in the field. Definitely a "must visit" while on the island. Worth much more than the $3 admission fee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powder Springs, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inexpensive way to beat the heat”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

In the middle of the day when it was just too hot for the beach anymore, we headed to places like Tidelands. This place was way cool. They have so many tanks with creatures, a touch tank with some crabs and things, we learned a lot and got to see many creatures. It was cheap for a family of four to take a break from the heat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don't pass it up!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The attendant working the Jekyll Island gate suggested we visit because she saw my 4 year old in the backseat. I'm so glad we took her suggestion! Tidelands is right next door to Summer Waves and doesn't look like much when you drive by. Once inside, there are lots of hands on things for kids to interact with and tons of animals to see. They have canoes and kayaks and there are several guided tours offered throughout the week.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alicia0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUYTON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to take the little ones”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very informative center, gives you an insight to the areas many fish and wildlife. It is kind of small and should expand.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TEOFILO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We enjoyed walking through this nature center. Would be fun for kids to explore. Lots of neat exhibits to look at as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tidelands Nature Center also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Tidelands Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing