We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable stay -- don't worry about the negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macon, GA
1 review
“A very comfortable stay -- don't worry about the negative reviews”
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We were a bit worried about the negative reviews, but when we arrived, we were quite pleased. We had a two bed-room suite, and everything was clean -- no bugs. The furniture is dated and a bit worn, but nothing more than I would expect in an older motel. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen had adequate plates and cups (didn't match, but who cares?), and the living room was large enough for our family of five (four adults and one active four-year-old).

I don't know what a few folks were looking for or what happened, but we enjoyed our stay and would willingly return.

  • Liked — Beach right across the road
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was better than I had expected for the price range.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleslewis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    107
    76
    63
    78
See reviews for
150
102
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I grew up vacationing at this hotel when it was a family owned mom and pop hotel and brought my family this month. I LOVE this place!! The hotel has received a bit of a facelift over the years but it is still a bit outdated (like the pink 70's style tiling in the bathroom and the older cabinets in the kitchen). To all the naysayers about bugs, old smell, etc...yes there may be a roach or two crawling around this is the south of course and they are abundant but we never ever saw one in our room. It may smell a bit musty but it is in fact an older motel. You do not stay at this hotel expecting a $200 a night room. We had a two bedroom suite. Our room was comfortable, large, clean and smelled fine. The beds were pretty comfortable a bit on the firm side for me but some like it firm some like it not so firm...a hotel can't please everyone. It is true that the hotel is not on the beach. But if you don't mind walking less than 2 minutes across the street (literally) you'll be right there on a quiet, beautiful white sandy beach. The rooms may not have an ocean view but step right outside of your room, hang out at the pool (which was very clean and well maintained the whole week) and you see the ocean. If you want an oceanfront hotel stay someplace else. The breakfast bar was just fine. Juices, cereal, a nice assortment of mini muffins and danishes as well as hot waffles and for those who enjoy good ol' southern food there are biscuits and gravy. There was a staff person tending to the food supply the entire time. The management was friendly and our room was cleaned every single day. There are very few hotels that you can stay at for around $150/night and get two bedrooms a kitchen and a living room. You can buy groceries and cook out on the grill in the picnic area to save some money or you can eat out at a plethera of restaraunts on both Jekyll and St Simons. You can easily pay that for a plain old king sized room with a pull out sofa at most chain hotels. But if you're looking for a nice place for a family vacation and you can even bring your dog for only $10 extra a day (compared to $25 most other places) try out Jekyll Island Quality Inns and Suites.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmie0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed 5 nights in a second floor suite. The space was large, very clean, and the kitchen had an oven in addition to the stovetop, microwave, and full size fridge. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had central air - none of that loud on-again off-again noise you get with regular window units. Yes, the furniture is dated, but it was clean and functional. The carpet, drapes and bedding in this room looked new.

Maybe we just got lucky, but we never saw a single bug in the room while we were there (as mentioned in another review).

The staff was friendly, breakfast was good, the landscaping is nice, and the pool was refreshing. There is no view of the ocean but it's an easy walk to the beach.

If you are looking for luxury, this may not be for you. We have stayed in several different places on Jekyll and this hotel is just fine for a simple, relaxing getaway.

  • Liked — Large, clean, quiet
  • Disliked — No view
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atlantagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in from here to Colorado. I booked this hotel online and when we arrived the exterior looked exactly like what was online. Once we went into the room, it was a whole different story. The room was smelly and dirty. Dust was everywhere, kitchen cabinets wouldn't close and there were dead bugs in every cabinet and drawer. The bathroom had a window in the shower, one pane was frosted and the other wasn't. We could look out onto the parking lot. I called the front desk and the attendant told me she could give me a hand towel to put up to the window until maintenance comes in the morning. He never showed up. Mildew was on several ceiling tiles in the bathroom also. They didn't try to fix anything that was wrong and I will never again stay in this hotel!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank honestgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jekyll Island hotels

michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2008

1) Hotel is across the street from the beach, no view at all.
2) Rooms smell like mildew/mold (mot just a few)
3) One central heat/ac unit for the whole bldg. (not good)
4) Dog hair still on the furniture/carpet (now on clothes)
5) Dishes in room still had food on them.
6) curtain rods coming down/ drapes could use cleaning
7) Staff no very friendly- especially manager
8) Not much in the way of breakfast.
9) This difference in making a reservation and walking in off the street was about $100.00 different. They have a 49.00 coupon (thats about what the room was worth)
10) My husband picked up a foot fungus either from the shower or the nasty carpet.

Never Again!!!!!!!

  • Liked — sean the maintance man carried our luggage to the room upsatirs,very nice man.
  • Disliked — the smell of the rooms/dog hair everywhere/no view of the beach.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank summersweet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazlehurst,GA
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I stayed at the motel while in town for the Bluegrass convention on the island. The motel room was fairly clean. The room had a very bad odor like dogs. We were told that there were only certain rooms that animals stay in that not so. The heat and air can't be controlled in the ind. rooms it is centrally controlled. This is a older motel (one of the oldest on the island) and just doesn't have the look of a newer. The breakfast was fairly good food but they were not able to handle the crowd the bar was only half keep stocked at best. Would not recommend if you do not like pets.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bchbound2clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We loved this hotel! Had a nice room with beach view. Really spacious because we brought out 85 lb. German Shepherd with us. He was very comfortable. We had a King Bed and plenty of room. Also had free Internet. It was very clean, standard shore hotel, fine for us. I did not experience any negativity expressed n some reviews. Located across the street from the beach and a short drive from things to do was great for the price. There was a pool too. Breakfast buffet was standard continental which is fine for us.

Downside was the housekeeping staff leaves at 2 so they could not clean out room. We did get fresh towels though so no big deal, I just found that odd.

I'd stay here again and recommend to anyone that wants to bring their big dog along.

  • Liked — Big Dog Friendly
  • Disliked — Housekeeping leaves at 2.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GSDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Jekyll Island
Quality Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing