We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but clean, a great location and a very good deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but clean, a great location and a very good deal.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed near here in the past so when we saw the name and locaton of our hotel on Hotwire.com, we were very happy. This hotel is not right on the ocaean, but acrsoss the street from it. There is another 2 story hotel accross the street (being remodeled right now by Holiday Inn) which blocks your view of the ocean, but this still is a good deal. There is a nice breakfast provided also. There are many wonderful places to stay on this island, but if you are on a budget and you want to experience Jekyll Island, which is at the opposite end of the scale from Myrtle Beach, SC (Myrtle Beach can be a lot of fun for families with children, and golfers but Jekyll is much slower. You come here to relax!). There are things to do here, but they are mostly for adults. My wife and I try to avoid crowds so anywhere along the coast in the Southeast (NC, SC, GA and the Panhandle of FL, AL, MS) are pretty good from Thanksgiving through March. The temperatures on these areas are not nealry as warm as central and southern Florida, but if you are happy with 55 - 65 degrees, beaches, palm trees and sea food, you will enjoy the Lowcounry, and Jekyll, which has a very different feel to it. It was the playgound of the rich and famous in the late 1800's and early 1900's and much of the area where they lived has been painstakingly restored and maintained (my hat is off the State of Georgia for having the vision to see this).
Off season you will probalby spend $70 - $85 per night. In high season I would i magine that amount is about double. Let me reiterate, this is not a fancy hotel. The rooms are huge (1950's era) ad they are comfortable. The rooms have refridgerators, microwaves and coffeemakers too, as wellas flat screen TV's. Yes, thers might be the occasuonal Palmetto Bug in your room, but if you have lived in the South you know it is impossible to keep the bugs out of your house. That is just the way it is, but I still feel this is a very good deal!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMCINCINNATI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    107
    76
    63
    77
See reviews for
150
102
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well the boys and I have just returned from Beautiful Jekyll Island again marking our 35th year now. We stayed at our usual spot the Quality inn and suites in the outrigger section at the back of the hotel. The rooms were clean and big and the prices were the best on the Island. We had two two bedroom suites with a full kitchen and den. We had 4 people in one room and 3 in the other. pull out couch meant everyone had there own bed which was nice. I have read some negative reviews about the hotels up keep and can say they aren't true. The room was clean yes it was dated in form of Kitchen and Bathrooms, but keep in mind you aren't staying at the Island club or some new state of the art place. It is old but it is perfect for families or a group of drunken golfers down south trying to have fun. the front desk gentleman Bobby may be the nicest person you will ever meet. My group looks forward to spending next years trip at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhopp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Jhopp1978-Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love being the closest to golf and having the golfers stay with us. We are an older property but pride ourselves with being clean, comfortable, and affordable. I will pass your kind words about Bobby on to him. We do have some bathroom and kitchen renovations coming in the near future. We can't wait to see you for year 36 next fall! Monica Nawrocki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stay here every November for a relaxing pre holiday madness weekend. We bring our two dogs and book the 1 bedroom suite and bring our own food to cook. The room is always clean ans comfortable. The breakfast is decent, the location is perfect to get to the island attractions. Our dogs felt right at home.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to get the best room for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Vicky904-We are glad you and the dogs enjoyed your stay with us! It is really nice that dogs are allowed on almost the entire beach on Jekyll Island. We are proud to offer so many rooms with kitchens. We look forward to having you and the dogs as our guests again after the holidays for some R&R. Monica Nawrocki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The rooms are musty and old and appear to have not been renovated for several years. The coffee pot and microwave were in the bathroom. Fixtures were old and rusty. Spider webs on parts of the ceiling and what was possibly mold on one of the walls. You could see where the walls had been patched. Everything just appeared as though it had to be wiped down before touching it. It is the first hotel near the conference center and I feel should have more appeal than this . Will never stay here again if visiting Jekyll Island!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments- while I understand that you were not happy with your accomodations, we appreciate when guests share their opinions about their stay. While we are an older hotel we have undergone multiple renovations over just the last two years. New furnishings, new carpeting, and new bedding. We anticipate renovations to our bathrooms and kitchens in the upcoming year. By booking thru a third party sometimes we are unable to provide guests with a room set up they expected. I apologize that you were booked in to a handicap accessible room that was not what you expected. We hope that you will give us another chance to prove our level of service to you in the future. I would love to personally handle your future accomodations. Again, thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. Deborah Exum, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jekyll Island hotels

Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were traveling to coastal Georgia & northern Florida without a plan with 2 tweens & 2 pug dogs. Moderately priced, pet friendly options are limited on Jekyll Island. Option 1 would only accept one dog under 20 pounds & we had 2. After calling Quality Inn & finding that they had rooms, we stopped to take a look. One on the ground floor fit our needs & was near dog walk area. Our dogs stayed in their crates while in the room.We were allowed to check in early because the room was ready & we had driven 14 hours! We had a pleasant stay. Nice staff. Standard Quality Inn breakfast buffet. Coffee always on in Lobby. Yes, it is an older property, but it was fine for our needs.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms near pool may have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eachdayagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Valued Guest-Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad your pugs and tweens had a good time. Jekyll Island has some great history and nature to explore. We do have some upgrades planned for the near future. We look forward to seeing again the next time you come thru the Golden Isles. Monica Nawrocki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location is great. Decent staff and it looks great on the surface . The rates were ok for the location but man the rooms were straight out of a cheap B movie lot . Old furniture , really depressing yellowish walls and the beds were flintstone hard ! Someone threw a old ratty pair of jeans over the railing and they kind of summed up the hotel ! If u just want to crash for a night cheaply them it may work but that was about all I wanted .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Mr. Costner,
I apologize that you felt as though your upgraded suite was an outdated room. The large size of our rooms are something that is not typical in most hotels these days. Our furnishings are not from the 70's as most Coastal Hotels do feature some white wash furnishings for the coastal atmosphere. Being an exterior hotel, many of our customers do utilize our railings for drying beach towels. We will monitor the type of items that guest are hanging out to dry. We hope you will return to see the bathroom and kitchen renovations that we have planned for 2014. Deborah Exum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I suppose it partly my fault, i tried to guess what hotel i was "bidding" for and got stuck with this one.
First off, its the only hotel on the island NOT on the beach front.
The rooms are not renovated, straight out of the 70s (or older). the bathroom fixtures are very old and rusty, the shower bar trip caps were not screwed on and there was a little mold.
Even though our room was no smoking, you can tell it was a smoking room back in the 70s. musty.
Out side the room are benches with cigarette butts everywhere. You can walk around with out walking through someones smoke cloud (including the employees)

The waffler maker was broken, eggs were indescribable, some kinda pre frozen over easy nastiness.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityjekyll, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Ken D.-Allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations. While we are an older property we do pride ourselves with maintaining a clean comfortable room. I have shared your comments with our staff to ensure future guests do find similar problems with their stay. We do have renovations of bathrooms and kitchens planned for the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the problems with your stay personally. Again, I am truly sorry we failed to exceed expectations. Monica Nawrocki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 700 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Jekyll Island
Quality Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing