We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing driftwood”
Review of Driftwood Beach

Driftwood Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing driftwood”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I read about driftwood beach on the internet and decided to visit to see what all the fuss was about. When we came out of the trail and entered the beach I was amazed at how beautiful it was. The photo opportunities on this beach are endless. If you love photos this is the place to go, no two pieces of driftwood are the same. I found this beach very peaceful, I could have spent my whole day here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,408
    298
    86
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Prehistoric Scene on Jekyll Island”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent several days on Jekyll Island, GA, on our recent motor trip up the Eastcoast from FLA to PA. As we were riding our bikes around the 7 miles long island (with almost a complete bike trail around it) we came across Driftwood Beach. This was truly a beautiful spot where once large trees had been uprooted during a long-ago tropical storm and had aged into beautiful gray colored bizarre shapes of all sizes and configurations. A great spot to take some interesting photos and to just sit in the sun amongst a very unique setting. Will visit again on a future trip to Jekyll Island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland oh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Photo Op Beach"”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in Savannah for a few days & am so glad we took a day out to spend it on Jekyll Island. It is quite quaint and off the beaten path. We got some amazing pictures of our children, aged 9,11,&13, on Driftwood beach. Definitely not a swimming beach, as there were a ton of jelly fish everywhere. The views with the driftwood and nature setting all around were magnificent. We will definitely make a point to stop in again the next time we are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
213 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very Cool Photo Opportunity Here”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just off the perimeter road around Jekyll Island, you come to Driftwood Beach. The gnarled driftwood on the beach offers up some very cool photo opportunities. Many locals come here for wedding pictures, etc.. Our visit was very cold and windy in late windy, but I still managed to snap a few gorgeous pics.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dino328gtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best for couples:)”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I love the beach itself. The view and the area is peaceful and relaxing its very clean and best for couples who likes romantic walks on the beach and likes to take pictures. The scenery is natural and you can see another island across the shore. Bring your beach stuff and cameras too!

Helpful?
Thank raytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Beach also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Driftwood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing