We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but not GREAT” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachview Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beachview Club
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK but not GREAT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed here in October based on the reviews. However, must admit somewhat disappointed. Pulled out a drawer for a phone book and found bugs crawling in the drawer!! The location was great, but the room was average at best - very dark with very little lighting, bed that bordered on lumpy, big mirrors on the wall, certainly didn't give the feeling of luxury, perhaps just a feeling of being a little creepy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — accommodations
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank OhioPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    83
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
60
131
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roswell
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

Jekyll Island Beachview club hotel - A relaxing stay
August 21, 2006
We just arrived at the Beachview Club hotel on Jekyll Island for a 4 day visit. The hotel is located on the beach, in fact it is one of the few properties that has a nice beachfront, even at high tide there is a beach. The pool has pretty live oak trees around it. Our room was located on the second level with a porch that over looked the pool . You also have a good vantage point to see the ocean.
The room was clean with a toaster, microwave, mini frige and coffee machine. Dishes were also provided and cleaned by the maid service everyday. Service was friendly. The beach was very clean and great for walking, the hotel has bikes you can use for the bike trail that goes around the island. We ate breakfast on our porch every morning. Dinner was another story. The Jekyll Island club
restaurant well lets just say snooty without cause. The Rah Bar, pretty nasty, I watched the guy clean out the trays with the lemons, cherries and olives and that did it for me, plus the unfriendly attitude did not help things. Latitude 31, over priced and not worth it. The best place to eat and it was pricey was the Crane house on Jekyll Island Club property. They were friendly, and the food was very good. Other things to do were horse back riding on the beach, which was fun , shopping at the local shops or just hanging out at the Beachview club pool. The hotel is very kid friendly.

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Disliked — Needs better restaurants on island
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank Reisebricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute! The best part about this hotel is the beautiful natural landscaping. There are huge trees that seem to protect it from the ocean... it's just gorgeous! The pool and hot tub area are really nice, and since it's a pretty small hotel, it never seemed crowded. Our room was a nice size, with a small fridge and microwave. Everything was really clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and ready to help with anything. You can rent bikes from them and ride around the island... highly recommend it! The only complaint I had while we were there is that they start their landscaping duties early. The guy was out on the pool deck with the leaf blower at 8:30 one morning and 9am the next. Seems early to me when I'm on vacation! I did complain to the front desk and they were apologetic. But anyways, this did not affect my experience too much and I would still encourage anyone traveling to Jekyll Island to stay here! It's definitely the nicest place on the ocean!

Helpful?
11 Thank sriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stayed at the Beachview for our wedding and short honeymoon and loved the hotel and the island. While there was a very large wedding party (not our own) staying over the weekend we were there that was loud and obnoxious, it was not enough to dim our pleasure in our stay. Yes, it's a short walk to the beach, and views are obstructed by trees, but the obvious attempt by designers to incorporate the natural landscape and not to bulldoze the place will be appreciated by people who recognize that the natural setting is one to be treasured. If you want unfettered views, the Rhett Suite or room 110 are your best choices. The day staff were pleasant and helpful, and housekeeping kept the room in excellent condition. In fact, we loved it so much (this was our first time on the island) we booked another stay for July before we left!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

We stumbled onto Jekyll Island after a nightmarish experience at the Sea Gate on St. Simon's Island. With no idea where to go, we asked at the Jekyll Welcome Center and were given coupons for several of the hotels. We decided to try the Beachview and were delighted! I loved the intimacy of the place - a small L-shaped hotel surrounding a tree-shaded lawn & pool, with the Atlantic just steps away. We were just stopping for the night before contining home to FL from our trip to the NC mountains, and my 4 year old had a wonderful time playing on the beach that evening after a long day in the car.

The room was neat and clean, and included 2 queen beds, a small (but not mini) refigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and dishes/silverware. Beds were comfortable, though they could use better pillows. Towels were extra soft and fluffy.

We didn't use the pool, but it looked very pretty and was clearly well-kept, as were all of the grounds.

It was such a great stay, we've decided to return for our next extended vacation!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank vlmail2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2006

We were planning to attend a wedding, but it was postponed. Since we had already scheduled vacation time we decided to travel to the Beachview Club anyhow. The hotel is older (as is everything else on Jekyll) but very nicely landscaped. We stayed in room 101 which was on the ground floor and closest to the beach. We could see the ocean from our room and were only a hundred yards from the boardwalk to the beach. The room was nice with standard furnishings...king bed, TV, refrigerator, microwave, toaster. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful if you had any questions or requests.

Jekyll is a quiet place and was perfect for our long weekend. If you drive around the island I think it is about 15 miles or so. The historic district was beautiful and a great place to visit for a walk along the water or among the historic buildings. For dinner we tried SeeJays which was average...far better for lunch and a couple of drinks looking at the water. Latitude 31 was excellent for dinner and can get crowded early. There are a group of shops off the main road near the beach for souveneirs and groceries. A very peaceful place. Since we were only there for a weekend we didn't venture into Brunswick or St. Simons.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank dgtray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

While this is one of the less expensive hotels on Jekyll, it's far far better than the Holiday Inn. If you call up, you can talk rates and negotiate a decent price. The Beachview Club sits on the East side of the island, right next to the shoreline. There's a set of wooden stairs that leads down to the beach. During high tide, the water comes up the beach right to the dune, so if you want to walk south you have to take the walkway. Another reviewer complained about not being able to see the beach...I couldn't actually see the sand from my room, but I could see and hear and smell the ocean from my room on the ground floor near the west corner of the hotel, so I wouldn't take that complaint too seriously. The room was fine for what I paid. It included a single king-sized bed, TV, breakfast/work table, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, and mini-fridge. Some people might call this a kitchenette, but I would disagree. There were a few dishes in the cabinet, so it's possible to cook a microwave meal, but there is no stove or convection oven. My only complaints were minor: there is only one sink in the room and that functions for both bathroom and "kitchen" use, which didn't bother me, but might bug someone else; the bathroom was showing its age but functioned fine; the plumbing gurgled several times during the night and I think that was related to other guests using the toilets and faucets, but nothing bad came up the drain other than noise; and the room was very humid and had smelled musty when I first opened the door, but I aired it out and turned on the AC and it smelled fine after that. The beds and other furnishings were standard hotel fair, functional, but not fantastic. The AC worked well, keeping the room cool and dry even in coastal Georgia heat and humidity. There is a heated pool (nice if you're staying during the early spring and want to swim in the morning) that's average size and a hot tub if you want to soak for a while with friends. I think this is a great place to stay for the money, and even if you can afford to book a room in the old historic hotel, the Beachview is a better place because you can wake up to the sunrise over the ocean, and you are only steps away from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ExoticV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachview Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachview Club

Property: The Beachview Club
Address: 721 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0831
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachview Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Beachview Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachview Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Beachview Hotel Jekyll Island
The Beachview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing