We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Elegance and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at the Jekyll Island Club for the GA/FL football game. I appreciate the efforts of those preserving historical locations and embracing environmental protection. What a beautiful setting! Live oak trees laden with Spanish moss, pristine coastal creek, and close proximity to the ocean all make the Jekyll Island Club hotel special. We ate Sunday brunch in the Grand Dining room--what a treat for all the senses.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eco_tourist30467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were surprised that the maid service wasn't good at all. Nothing was ever replenished unless we asked and gave a tip. Like another person said it is hot there and if you're not used to it ... We asked for additional bottles of water and would only get 1 after we tipped the maid. They never left any soap, coffee etc. unless we told them we were out and tipped. Also the maid threw out (took ?) all of the shells we had collected. We couldn't replace them as apparently they were unusual for that time of year.
The dinner at the courtyard was very good and the breakfast cafe staff were very friendly. We weren't impressed with the meal in the main dining hall. Good but we've had better. And perhaps it's nice they didn't enforce the jacket code for some people but it would have been nice to know my husband could have forgone his jacket.
Overall it didn't live up to the ratings or price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacWalworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

It feels like something out of an Agatha Christie novel - delightful buildings and lovely room although too hot to enjoy enclosed veranda. We very much enjoyed dinner in the dining room with attentive staff and they did not impose the jacket rule (travelling from England jacket not part of husbands luggage) - pants and shirt with collar absolutely fine. Complimentary champagne in room as we were on honeymoon. Spent a day at the beach (hotel has its own beach hut where you can get chairs and brollies and snacks). There is only one thing wrong with this hotel and that, frankly is some of the other guests. We had been travelling through Georgia and the Carolinas for over 3 weeks on honeymoon and found the people delightful. The Jekyll Island club seems to attract an elderly "old money" class of person and our natural instinct to smile and be friendly to all was met with cold glares and hostility on so many occasions it stopped being funny. I appreciate that in its day the Island was an exclusive playground but feel our manners are good enough for anywhere. If the generations above feel that the quality of guest does not meet their standards then perhaps they should find somewhere else to go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My credit card was wrongfully over charged by $187.00 and I will NEVER book a room with you again. I will also tell every one of my friends about this, and advise them to do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathytotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krunner44, General Manager at Jekyll Island Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

In response to the Trip Advisor review stating that the customer’s credit card was overcharged the Jekyll Island Club Hotel would like to state that if any customer has any accounting errors on their bill please contact our accounting department Monday-Friday at 912.635.2600. Any issues will be dealt with accordingly and in a timely fashion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This is a historic hotel, and is very nice for a historic hotel. The rooms are quite basic but they do have nice bathroom/shower facilities. Being that we visited in July a few things made our trip less tolerable, mostly the heat and humidity. It was over 100 degrees and over 95% humidity. For folks who are not used to those conditions you may want to pick another time to visit. The staff were all exceptional: very polite and helpful. The location is fantastic and leaves you close to many beaches and they have private access to one of the beaches which came in handy. There are very nice shops for nicknacks and various "beach" type items just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopefulWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We only live a short distance away on Amelia Island in FL, but we still keep returning to Jekyll Island....Now when we return instead of saying Welcome Back, they say Welcome Home.
Hotel and grounds are beautiful and peaceful. Hotel is rich in history and had been lovingly restored. My favorite feature is the Lobby Bar and Kenny (bartender).Love sitting at his bar, looking out throught the old 'wavy' glass windows, stained glass at the top, and watching the sun set over the intracoastal waterway. We've met some interesting folks there, some, more than once (we're not the only repeat offenders it seems!)
Or-maybe it's the Adirondack chairs under the big oak trees I like...or the huge porch overlooking the same waterway....This is hard.
Rooms are quite and spacious, beds are very comfortable. Pool is great in the summer, complete with pool bar and grill(good food) and restrooms right there. Lots of things to do nearby, something for everyone. The paved bike path is awesome.
The Grand Dining room is awesome, esp for breakfast. They also have a cafe with Starbucks so you can get your caffeine fix almost anytime of the day.
The service of the staff is the best, anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyCAmeliaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The club is made up of a collection of houses and apartments built at the beginning of the 20th century as winter residences for some of America's most wealthy and influential families. The clubhouse is at the center of the massive property.
We stayed in an apartment originally inhabited by Rockefeller while his 'winter bungalow' was being constructed a stone's throw away. The buildings have of course been modified from their original floor plans, but they remain spectacular museum pieces of an era in American history.
There is absolutely nothing to do...except slow down and relax. There is a shuttle to the beach side of the island (5 min). The club has a really nice pool and there is croquet on the lawn, but, you are in a museum the moment you drive on to the grounds. Walks and rocking chairs on antebellum porches...now that's the life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelguru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $183 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Resort is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room to casual fare at The Wharf, Pool House and the bakery-delicatessen Club Café. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America’s wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing