We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Time Elegance abounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Jekyll Island Club Hotel has managed to retain the historic character of the property while creating comfortable accomodations for modern day guests. For some, though, it may feel like you're staying in a museum, especially with the historic district properties and signage surrounding the hotel. Despite the formal appearances, the hotel's atmosphere is generally relaxed. Our room (a Suite) was nicely sized and almost on its own private floor of the Annex. We wish it had a door to close off the bedroom, though. The on-site bike rentals are convenient and include kids bikes and trailers. The main improvement they coud make is to increase the dining choices. Basically you have either the formal dining hall or an overpriced takeout snackbar/cafe. There are a couple of off-property restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Improadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,159 - 1,165 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

The jekyll Island Resort is like paradise on earth. Every single spot of the resort is absolutely beautiful. You can rent bikes to explore the rest of the island or just enjoy lying on one of the lounge chairs with a cool drink in your hand.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast buffet breathtaking.
The room was clean and had a nice view, but was really very small. The crib for our son took up the little space there was beside our quite small bed.
But in the end the positive aspects of our stay outweighed the negative ones several times over.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobiaslinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We recently traveled to Jekyll Island Club Hotel and I can't recommend it enough. It's a resort in every sense of the word, with lots to do, see, and experience. The onsite restaurants are more then adequate (disclaimer - we did not go to the Grand Dining Rm). We were a family of 10, with ages between 4 and 70 and we hung out at the pool, rode bikes, went to the beach, walked through the historic district, and basically had a great time. You would really never need to leave the area and we didn't use our car for 3 days. The staff was great, very friendly and accomodating. Make use of the Solterra Cafe, especially for morning coffee, pastries, and pizza; the pool grill is great too - try the Bloody Mary's!!!; and then there's the pub, which is a great place to end the day. Remember - it's an old historic property, so yes the floors squeak and you can at times hear people in the hall. But it's worth it!!! The island is beautiful too with not too much tacky growth. All in all, a great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardScrabbleTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

What an experience!! We stayed in the Cherokee lodge in a large, well appointed room. The building is historic, so set your expectations for creaky floors and strange plumbing. But everything worked and the quirks were quite charming.

The restaurants and bars within the compound gave me a sense of what it must have been like for the club members. The staff was incredible. The grounds were groomed to a standard that can't be explained. You have to see it.

Don't expect a wild time. But do expect to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorporateLodging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We just returned from a 4 day/3 night stay at the Jekyll Island Club where we traveled for a wedding. We flew into the Jacksonville Airport and it was such an easy drive to find the Jekyll Island Club- took us right at an hour. You pay $5 to drive onto the Island and we easily found the Club. From the time we drove up, I felt like we were in an old, classic movie! It was picturesque! Everyone was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. They give you real keys to use for your room that you can also use while you are there for charging drinks/food/etc.

Overall- I would recommend the Jekyll Island Club- especially for a destination wedding or large group or family traveling together. I thought it was the perfect size for these types of events. Large enough where there were plenty of options for things to do/eat/etc. But small enough where we would see people from our group quite often! HIstoric and beautiful resort made for a unique, special vacation unlike any other place we have traveled before!

Food- The first night we were there we ate at the Pier accross the way which had delicious food and drinks. Latitude 31 served an amazing, nice meal of seafood. Our favorite hangout the whole weekend was the Pool Bar- delicious burgers, chicken sandwhiches and hot dogs- seriously! One of the best cheeseburgers I have ever had. Also, their fun "beach drinks" were all delicious! This got more crowded as the Memorial Day weekend went along but never took too long. We would also grab a Starbucks coffee every morning at Cafe Solterra! My husband had the breakfast buffett every morning at the Grand Dining Room and he raved about the eggs being delicious!

Rooms- The hotel is divided into several different buildings and sections. Our room was in the annex- which after seeing rooms in other buildings, was probably my least favorite section. Our deluxe king was large and had a closed in balcony- but it was too hot to use it. Also, you could hear everything going on in the hall. If we return, I would suggest staying either in the main building where the rooms were quieter and more modern or the Sans Sousci which was nice (although lots of stairs!). I did not check out the rooms in either Crane Cottage or Cherokee Cottage but they were both beautiful buildings!

Service- everyone we came in contact with was very friendly.

Things to do- we drove the short drive to St. Simon Island to shop/eat one day which was awesome! Most of the time though, we hung out by the pool which was clean and they provide towels. We never used the Beach Pavillion, but I heard it was nice. Many people in our party rented bikes or electric cars to tour the island and they all recommended it!

Wedding- the Wedding was absolutely beautiful! The trees were gorgeous and I can't wait to see all the pictures because everything looked beautiful! The reception was in the Ballroom which was also beautiful!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlily129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This was my fourth visit to Jekyll Island and the Jekyll Club Hotel. This trip was short, only 3 days total. Although my wife and I have been here four times before we enjoyed every minute. This trip we visited the Jekyll Island Baptist Church. Good service and very friendly people. We walked in the historic district, played miniture golf, rode the bikes from the hotel, and took the historic tram tour for the second time. We had dinner at the Grand Dinning Rm. and as always the food and service was excellent. We enjoyed the pool and sitting on the big porches and relaxing. The small shopes in the historic district are worth visiting as well. I really have not found a better place to take my wife and relax and have time to talk and enjoy each other.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridagrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My family and I were there for a few days on business and the rooms are so way over priced personall I think its a rip off for 250.00 a night in a double/double room the beds were hard as a rock and not to mention the cracks in the doors (all the way around). Our room never did get dark enough to actually go to sleep and ther is no cell phone service or WIFI and before we made the reservations we were told all cell service and WIFI worked DIDNT. Had to bo back in to brunswick to get cell service. The mini fridge was stocked for a price a can coke was 2.25 have to drive to the other side of the island to see any Ocean

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TRAVELINGBLUE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
793 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $179 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Resort is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room to casual fare at The Wharf, Pool House and the bakery-delicatessen Club Café. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America’s wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing