We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historical southern accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“historical southern accomodations”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

the well maintained old hotel reminds one of the past. there are many southern features including including excellent service. the dining room and the wonderful evening bar are remembrances of old traditions and southern etiquette. the well managed grounds are beautiful provide nice waking exercise areas.

Room Tip: large room overlooking the front of the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    269
    90
    57
    31
See reviews for
240
581
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Unless you are a bride with money to throw at the front desk, forget about what used to be a charming hotel. This place is now a wedding factory, & they make no bones about it. Staff sheepishly admits it, and waiters, bartenders, & housekeeping shrug in misery as the downward spiral continues. Came here for a birthday weekend - I had last been here several years ago. How the mighty have fallen. There is no GM on site on the weekends; the chef has quit leaving the Grand Ballroom food (never great to begin with) now no better than reheated catering fare. Our meal was inedible. The restaurant mgr apologized profusely, promising to comp the meal & our dessert, but lo & behold, a full bill arrived at the end of dinner... The Grand Ballroom had a total of 6 people eating on a Friday night. Apparently the GM has no clue about P&L regarding running a restaurant! The help was very nice, but agreed the food was terrible too! What is wrong with this picture? Our room was clean but arctic in temperature. But the absolute worst has to be the front of house staff, who seem tone deaf to the concept of customer service.The valet opened the car door, and watched my husband unload our car! Another bellman stood there observing & walked off. Finally, the valet took my husband's suit, carried it up the steps, deposited it on a chair, and left! My husband dropped our bags & went onward to register. Wherein you meet a phalanx of desk clerks. They smile. They hand you brochures over & over & over. But ask them to call a bellman & their response is: " Just go outside & find one out there - they're free!" Really? Gee thanks, I am aware of that already, but isn't YOUR job to help ME? not at Jekyll Island! Their job is to stand in the air conditioned lobby & watch as you walk out to find NO BELL staff & watch you CARRY YOUR OWN BAGS because there is no one who gives a damn to help you in this landmark hotel. Really? This is your landmark experience? After a bike ride, I had an injured knee, & came in limping, asking for ice. I was pointedly
handed a plastic bag & told to get my own ice at the cafe. No concern. No directions on where I could find ice close to my room. Here's your plastic bag. Get out. There were several restaurants on property; sadly, we didn't get to go because, yep, they were closed due to WEDDINGS. So, Jekyll Island, stop calling yourself a resort. You aren't anymore. You are just a third rate wedding venue with a high price tag & lazy management. Shame on you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SavvyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Charming old hotel with lots of history behind it. Comfortable room (deluxe grade in the annex building) had nice seating area in front of the TV. Minibar. There was a glassed-in sun porch facing the croquet lawn. Bathroom was okay, but it still sports the lower-level countertop of days gone by. A walk-in shower would have been nice. Beautiful pool. We found the staff very pleasing. We're from the North, but if we come back this way again, this place will be on our "must" list.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Jekyll Island Club is a great example of how to maintain and operate a historic property. I stayed in the main clubhouse and had a very comfortable, quiet room that was convenient to everything. The bar in the main lobby was a great evening spot with wonderful service from a first-class bartender. Cafe Solterra was a perfect breakfast spot and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I was visiting for a conference but it would make a wonderful vacation destination as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

this was fun for a day trip. WE walked around the houses. They were interesting to a point, imagine being rich enough to get together with a few close friend to buy your own private island and build your own club ?? The lunch at the club was quite good and reasonable. great atmosphere. The beaches were also lovely

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our 6th visit here. Charming. We ate in the Main Dining Room and it looked as though it had been redone recently (same for our room). Very clean, lots of Southern Charm . We always stay in either Crane Cottage or San Souci Cottage. Fun to sit outside at night and listen to all the river sounds. We were there over Memorial Day Weekend and everyone seemed up for a good time. Lots of weddings, but that is always the case (there is a reason for this, a very romantic setting). But neither the kids or weddings guests are bothersome. The food has improved as well. No complaints on the food or the service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnell
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We were so glad our friends recommended us staying here. From the excellent service to the club members teaching us croquet we had a great first visit and can't wait until our next time here. The bike paths are beautiful and the beach e s are unique. A must do long weekend or vacation.

Room Tip: You need to specify if you want a king bed. Some rooms are suites or you can specify different build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMKTJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing